Courses overview

Banjo Clawhammer

Jérémie Fraboni
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The banjo claw hammer is a particular way of playing the 5-chord banjo; it differs from the technique used for bluegrass music.  Only the right thumb is used for the upbeat, while another right hand finger, from a closed hand, is used for the downbeat.  Found mainly in old-time American music, this technique can be applied to other musical styles.  Ideal for accompanying yourself while singing or playing melodies, it can be as powerful as it is delicate.

The banjo claw hammer can be learned by everyone.  No music theory or music reading is necessary.  Most of the learning will take place orally.  It will mainly involve listening and reproducing the sounds, with a minimum of written material.  This is the quickest way to learn and remember songs, without any specific sheet music and tablatures, which, for most melodies, do not exist.

The claw hammer technique will be practiced with different tunings.  It will be developed in all its aspects, in order for the student to be as polyvalent as possible, playing solo melodies or accompanying songs, using different rhythms (4/4, 3/4, 6/8), the drop thumb, the hammer on/pull off/slide…

The basic technique will be taught individually, in 30-minute long classes.  Students will learn the repertoire and further techniques in small groups of 2 or 3 same-level individuals, during one-hour long sessions.  Each student will be fully active during these classes.

NB:  this technique cannot be taught on a four or six-chord banjo. The five-chord banjo is a must, because of the E-string presence.  We can lend you a study banjo for the first class and advise you about where to obtain one.

 

Jérémie Fraboni

Born in Brussels, Jérémie Fraboni is a guitar and banjo player, a singer and a composer. After studying the classical guitar, he conducted several projects featuring his own compositions. His last project, One Horse Land, is inspired by the current US folk scene. For the last couple of years, he has been in contact with American banjo players, online, in order to continue improving his knowledge of the old-time banjo claw hammer. He studies these techniques, different from those of bluegrass, in contemporary and traditional applications such as Anglo-Saxon ballads and tunes of the Appalachian old-time players. He intends to be mostly involved with the string band’s harmonic instruments and the songs.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come discover this course during the free meeting session on Tuesday the 17th of September 2019, from 18:00 to 20:00.

Individual lesson (10 cours/cycle)

  • Tuesday: 18h à 20h

The time of the individual course is determined in consultation with the teacher. Define your class schedule with him before you register. Contact Muziekpublique for more information.

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle.

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.
Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

Subscribe

>
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 150
Cycle 2
17/12
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
03/03
10/03
€ 150
Cycle 3
24/03
31/03
05/05
12/05
19/05
26/05
02/06
09/06
€ 120

120,00400,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Banjo Clawhammer

Jérémie Fraboni
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Le banjo clawhammer est une technique de jeu particulière au banjo 5 cordes, différente de celle utilisée en bluegrass. On utilise seulement le pouce (upbeat) et un autre doigt de la main droite, refermée, qui frappe les cordes (downbeat). Utilisée principalement dans les musiques traditionnelles américaines (old-time), cette technique s’adapte à différents autres styles. Idéale pour s’accompagner au chant ou jouer des mélodies, elle peut être aussi bien puissante que délicate.

Son apprentissage est accessible à tous : sans solfège, ni lecture de tablature. Il sera mené de la façon la plus naturelle qui soit : par l’écoute et la reproduction avec un minimum de supports écrits. C’est la méthode la plus rapide pour mémoriser des morceaux et développer la capacité d’en apprendre de nouveaux par soi-même, sans partitions ou tablatures spécifiques (qui pour la plupart des morceaux n’existent pas).

La technique du clawhammer sera pratiquée dans différents accordages et développée sous tous ses aspects afin de la rendre la plus polyvalente possible : mélodie solo ou accompagnement du chant, rythmes différents (4/4, 3/4, 6/8), « drop thumb », « hammer on/pull of/slide », …

L’apprentissage de la technique de base se fera de manière individuelle (modules de 30min) et l’apprentissage du répertoire et des nouvelles techniques dans des petits groupes de 2 à 3 joueurs de même niveau où chacun sera actif pendant toute la leçon (modules d’1h) .

Important : cette technique ne peut pas être apprise sur un banjo 4 ou 6 cordes. Un banjo 5 cordes est indispensable (présence de la chanterelle). Un banjo d’étude pourra être prêté le temps du premier cours et des conseils seront donnés pour s’en procurer.

Jérémie Fraboni

Jérémie Fraboni est un guitariste, banjoïste, chanteur et compositeur bruxellois. Passé par une formation académique à la guitare classique, il a mené de nombreux projets basés sur ses propres compositions (dont le dernier en date, One Horse Land, inspiré par la folk US actuelle). Depuis quelques années, il perfectionne au contact virtuel des banjoïstes américains la technique old-time du banjo clawhammer (différente de celle utilisée en bluegrass) dans un usage contemporain ou traditionnel (ballades anglo-saxonnes et old-time des Appalaches). Il s’occupera principalement des instruments harmoniques et des parties chantées du string band.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 17 septembre 2019, de 18h à 20h.

Cours individuel (10 cours/cycle)

Mardi: 17h à 20h30

L’heure du cours est déterminée en concertation avec le professeur. Définissez votre horaire de cours avec lui avant de vous inscrire. Contactez Muziekpublique pour plus d’information.

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle.

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.  

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 150
Cycle 2
17/12
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
03/03
10/03
€ 150
Cycle 3
24/03
31/03
05/05
12/05
19/05
26/05
02/06
09/06
€ 120

120,00400,00

Effacer