Courses overview

Diatonic harmonica

Olivier Vander Bauwede
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The diatonic harmonica is an indispensable instrument for the blues. Whilst it was designed in Europe as a portable toy for playing simple tunes, in the United States it has become an instrument in its own right, known as the “blues harp”. The harmonica is a unique instrument which you alternately suck and blow, and on which you can play notes and chords individually. The sound can be reshaped with different techniques, making it close to that of a singing voice.

The blues have a rich history: they contain elements of African music and have had a great influence on the development of rock, soul and pop music. Although the harmonica was never designed for this genre, it has proved to be a perfect match for the harmony and sound of the African-American music that developed in the late 19th century.

The lessons focus on traditional American music such as blues and roots, where the harmonica player can play the role of soloist or rhythmic accompanist. Reading music is by no means obligatory, as we learn mainly by ear. Some theoretical aspects will be explained, but it is mainly the control of rhythm, the pleasure of playing and personal expression that will be important. In addition to techniques specific to the instrument, learning how to improvise is also central. You will also learn how to play well-known themes and riffs, how to play with others, and how to guide.

These lessons are suitable for all levels. Knowledge of music theory or reading sheet music is not required. We work mainly by ear.

Olivier Vander Bauwede

Olivier Vander Bauwede is a harmonicist and multi-instrumentalist from Ghent.

In his teenage years he developed a passion for the blues and learned to play music on his own. Later he broadened his knowledge of music by studying jazz at the Jazzstudio and the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. He immersed himself in the harmonica, influenced by players such as Steven De Bruyn, Joe Filisko and Steve Baker. He is mainly active on the Belgian blues scene and plays with Guy Verlinde and the “Missy Sippy All Stars”, a group of promising young musicians led by Tiny Legs Tim. In addition to focusing on blues and jazz, he has also worked as a studio musician for television, radio and theatre productions.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come and discover this course during the free meeting session on Tuesday 22 September 2020, from 6 to 8 pm.

Collective lesson (10 classes/cycle)

Tuesday between 5:00 pm and 10:00 pm (depending on the number of registrants)

The time of the lesson is determined in consultation with the teacher.

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle. Sign up before 27 September 2020 and pay 10 euros less!

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

 

If necessary the teacher can vary the calendar in consultation with the course members.

Subscribe

150,00400,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Harmonica Diatonique

Olivier Vander Bauwede
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

L’harmonica diatonique est un instrument indispensable dans le blues. Alors qu’il a été conçu en Europe comme un jouet portable pour souffler des airs simples, il est devenu un instrument à part entière aux États-Unis, connu sous le nom de «blues harp». L’harmonica est un instrument unique sur lequel vous pouvez à la fois souffler et inspirer, et sur lequel vous pouvez jouer des notes et des accords individuellement. Le son peut être déformé avec différentes techniques, ce qui le rend proche de celui d’une voix chantante.

Le blues a une histoire riche : il contient des éléments de musique africaine et a eu une grande influence sur le développement de la musique rock, soul et pop. Bien que l’harmonica n’ait jamais été conçu pour ce genre, il s’est avéré correspondre parfaitement pour l’harmonie et le son de la musique afro-américaine qui s’est développée à la fin du 19e siècle.

Les leçons se concentrent sur la musique américaine traditionnelle comme le blues et le roots, où l’harmoniciste peut jouer le rôle de soliste ou d’accompagnateur rythmique. La lecture des notes n’est absolument pas obligatoire, car nous apprenons principalement à l’oreille. Certains aspects théoriques seront expliqués, mais ce sont surtout le contrôle du rythme, du plaisir de jouer et de l’expression personnelle qui seront importants. Outre les techniques spécifiques à l’instrument, l’apprentissage de l’improvisation est également central. Vous apprendrez aussi à jouer des thèmes et des riffs bien connus, à jouer avec les autres et à guider.

Ces leçons conviennent à tous les niveaux. La connaissance de la théorie musicale ou de la lecture de partitions n’est pas requise. Nous travaillons principalement à l’oreille.

Olivier Vander Bauwede

Olivier Vander Bauwede est harmoniciste et multi-instrumentiste gantois.

Dans son adolescence, il a développé une passion pour le blues et a appris à jouer de la musique de lui-même. Plus tard, il a élargi ses connaissances de la musique en étudiant le jazz au Jazzstudio et au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. Il s’est plongé dans l’harmonica, influencé par des joueurs tels que Steven De Bruyn, Joe Filisko et Steve Baker. Il est principalement actif sur la scène blues belge et joue avec Guy Verlinde et les « Missy Sippy All Stars », un groupe de jeunes musiciens prometteurs dirigé par Tiny Legs Tim. En plus de se concentrer sur le blues et le jazz, il a également travaillé comme musicien studio pour des productions télévisées, radiophoniques et théâtrales.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 22 septembre 2020, de 18h à 20h.

Cours collectif (10 cours/cycle)

Mardi : 17h00 et 22h (en fonction du nombre d’inscrit)

L’heure du cours est déterminée en concertation avec le professeur.

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. Inscrivez-vous avant le 27 septembre 2020 et payez 10 euros de moins !

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

L’affiliation à la carte de membre de Muziekpublique est obligatoire pour s’inscrire à un cours.

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>

150,00400,00

Effacer