(0)
(0)
Artists overview

Toasaves

In the footsteps of Wannes

Toasaves means “home land” in the Antwerp dialect, the cosmopolitan city where Wannes grew up and came into contact with all kinds of cultures, leaving a mark on his musical quest.

The ensemble brings together artists with different backrounds and travels through ancient music (trecento, Flemish polyphony, Sephardic music) and Eastern music (Greece, Turkey, Afghanistan). Toasaves will present their album in April 2022.

 

Musicians on tour :

  • Tristan Driessens (lutes, concept, arrangments, artistic direction)
  • Raphaël De Cock (vocals, bagpipes, Jew’s harp)
  • Harald Bauweraerts (hurdy-gurdy)
  • Miriam Encinas (vielle, dilruba, medieval flutes, frame drums)

Albums

“With a lot of creativity, openness, and using all the human affinities within the group, we can do some really fabulous things” (Tristan) Tristan Driessens discovered the ûd (oriental lute) through Sephardic and Arab-Andalusian music. From 2009 to 2012, he stayed in Istanbul to improve with his master Necati Çelik. Back in Belgium, he obtained a master’s degree in Turkish ûd at the LUCA School of Arts and in Musicology at the Université Libre de Bruxelles. Today, he is recognized in Belgium as one of the main references in ûd and Turkish classical music (makam). He collaborates with Tcha Limberger, Derya Türkan, Kudsi Erguner and Emre Gültekin, and he is the artistic director of Ensemble Lâmekân and Refugees for Refugees. His other projects are Tristan Driessen’s Soolmaan Quintet, Seyir Trio, La Compagnie d’Elias.

 

Raphael De Cock is a multi-instrumentalist, singer in various traditional styles, and is part of Belgian and internationals musical projects. With Remi Decker he co-founded Griff, a band in which he plays numerous bagpipes and flutes. In 2009 he formed the duo Nadisuna with Vladiswar Nadishana. He sings and plays the gaita (Galician bagpipe) in the ensembles Neboa and A Contrabanda. With the trio Osuna (Emre Gültekin and Thomas Baeté), he plays the Siberian zither (chatkhan) and does throat singing. He joins in with the Irish-Scandinavian project Northern Lights and organizes multi-ethnical workshops with Waira in schools. Actually, he was invited by Graindelavoix to join the Belgian-Italian vocal project Muntagna Nera, and Melancholia.

 

Harald Bauweraerts is a musical jack of all trades. In addition to playing the electro-acoustic hurdy-gurdy, he is enthusiastic about all sorts of analog synthesizers, effects, percussions and sequencers. Harald strives to achieve a beautiful and harmonious symbiosis between the analog and numeric world, between acoustic and electronic, and between light and dark. Through the ages, from one culture to another.

Achievements: Lais, Embrun, Trio Pilartz/Gielen/Bauweraraerts, Eurosong, Eriksson/Delqroix, Orgamusa, Aedo, Beatball, Woodshakes, Dansa Del Sol, Harald,…

Miriam Encinas grew up in a family of musicians: «Els Trobadors» and «L’Arc en el Cel». Her innate musicality combines the fresh perspective of a performer raised in a traditional music environment with the rigor and precision of her academic training. She studied the recorder with Sara Parés at the Conservatori del Liceu in Barcelona. Later she studied early music with : Pedro Memelsdorff, Christian Curnyn, Pia Elsdorfer, and percussion with Pedro Estevan. In 2001, she began studying Viola de Gamba with Cristian Sala and since 2013 Dilruba and Afghan music with Daud Khan Sadozai. As a professional musician, she is a member and has collaborated with: Evo, Mos Azimans, Via Artis Konsor, Joi de Trobar, l’Ham de Foc, Ensemble l’Albera, …

Upcoming concerts

27/11/22 Muziekclub 't Ey (Sint-Niklaas )
20/01/23 De Warande ( Turnhout)

Past concerts

26/11/22 Muziekpublique- Album Release (Brussels , BE)
23/10/22 30cc (Leuven, BE)
07/08/22 Festival Dranouter (Dranouter, BE)
25/06/22 Sint Baafsabdij (Gent, BE)
16/04/22 AMOR (Antwerpen, BE)

(0)
(0)
Retour vers les artistes

Toasaves

Sur les traces de Wannes

Toasaves est un nouveau projet inspiré par le riche répertoire folklorique de l’emblématique chanteur-artiste flamand Wannes van de Velde. Toasaves signifie « terre natale » en dialecte anversois, la ville cosmopolite où Wannes a grandi et est entré en contact avec toutes sortes de cultures, laissant une trace dans sa quête musicale.

L’ensemble réunit des artistes aux parcours différents et voyage à travers la musique ancienne (trecento, polyphonie flamande, musique sépharade) et la musique orientale (Grèce, Turquie, Afghanistan).

 

Musiciens :

  • Tristan Driessens (lutes, concept, arrangments, artistic direction)
  • Raphaël De Cock (vocals, bagpipes, Jew’s harp)
  • Harald Bauweraerts (hurdy-gurdy)
  • Miriam Encinas (vielle, dilruba, medieval flutes, frame drums)

 

 

Tristan Driessens découvre le ûd (luth oriental) par l’intermédiaire de la musique sépharade et arabo-andalouse. De 2009 à 2012, il séjourne à Istanbul afin de se perfectionner auprès de son maître Necati Çelik. De retour en Belgique, il obtient son master en ûd turc au LUCA School of Arts et en musicologie à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu en Belgique comme l’une des principales références dans le domaine du oud et de la musique classique turque (makam). Il collabore avec Tcha Limberger, Derya Türkan, Kudsi Erguner et Emre Gültekin, assure la direction artistique de l’Ensemble Lâmekân et de Refugees for Refugees. Ses autres projets sont Tristan Driessens Soolmaan Quintet, Blue Silence, Seyir Trio, La Compagnie d’Elias.

 

Raphaël De Cock est multi-instrumentiste, chanteur de styles traditionnels, et est impliqué dans divers projets musicaux tant belges qu’internationaux. Il est co-fondateur du groupe Griff (avec Remi Decker) dans lequel il joue plusieurs cornemuses et flûtes, et il forme en 2009 le duo Nadisuna avec Vladiswar Nadishana. Il chante et joue la gaita (cornemuse galicienne) dans les ensembles Néboa et A Contrabanda, la cithare de Sibérie (chatkhan) et chant à la gorge dans le trio Osuna, avec Emre Gültekin et Thomas Baeté. Il participe au projet irlando-scandinave sous le nom Northern Lights, tandis qu’il donne des ateliers multi-ethniques avec Waira dans les écoles. Actuellement, il est invité par Graindelavoix à rejoindre le projet vocal italo-belge Muntagna Nera, et Melancholia.

 

Harald Bauweraerts est un mille-pattes musical. En plus de jouer la vielle électro-acoustique, il est également adepte de toutes sortes de synthétiseurs analogiques, d’effets, de percussions et de séquenceurs. Harald s’efforce de réaliser une belle et harmonieuse symbiose entre le monde analogique et numérique, entre l’acoustique et l’électronique et entre la lumière et l’obscurité. A travers les âges, d’une culture à une autre.

Distinctions : Lais, Embrun, Trio Pilartz / Gielen / Bauweraerts, Eurosong, Eriksson / Delqroix, Orgamusa, Aedo, Beatball, Woodshakes, Dansa Del Sol, Harald, ..

Miriam Encinas a grandi dans une famille de musiciens : «Els Trobadors» et «L’Arc en el Cel». Sa musicalité innée combine le regard neuf d’une interprète élevée dans un environnement de musique traditionnelle avec la rigueur et la précision de sa formation académique. Elle étudie la flûte à bec avec Sara Parés au Conservatori del Liceu de Barcelone. Après elle étudie la musique ancienne avec : Pedro Memelsdorff, Christian Curnyn, Pia Elsdorfer, et la percussion avec Pedro Estevan. En 2001, elle commence des études de Viola de Gamba avec Cristian Sala et depuis 2013 de Dilruba et de musique afghane avec Daud Khan Sadozai. En tant que musicienne professionnelle, elle est membre et a collaboré avec : Evo, Mos Azimans, Via Artis Konsor, Joi de Trobar, l’Ham de Foc, Ensemble l’Albera, …

 

Prochains concerts

23/10/22 30cc (Leuven, BE)
26/11/22 Muziekpublique- Album Release (Brussels , BE)
27/11/22 Muziekclub 't Ey (Sint-Niklaas )
20/01/23 De Warande ( Turnhout)

Concerts passés

07/08/22 Festival Dranouter (Dranouter, BE)
25/06/22 Sint Baafsabdij (Gent, BE)
16/04/22 AMOR (Antwerpen, BE)