Courses overview

American Roots String Ensemble

Jérémie Fraboni
Lorcan Fahy
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Muziekpublique’s String Band meets once a week with a menu of traditional western music deriving from the great migrations of the 19th century to the USA.

To be more precise, their interest focuses mainly on American old-time music, but also on music from Quebec, as well as their Irish or Ulster Scots roots. With them, one can learn their rhythmic specialities (Jigs, Reels, Brandis, Fiddle Tunes…), melodic techniques (ornamentation, patterns, variations, accentuations, etc.) and harmonic figures (chords, bass lines) as well as some of their songs from a variety of origins, which have been saved thanks to the work of the song collectors.

These musical styles are the fruit of unlikely exchanges that have taken place in the United States down the centuries. Their character has its origins in a phenomenon known as “creolization” among the Europeans who colonized the territory, slaves brought from the African continent and the few members of the indigenous population who survived. These encounters gave birth to a multitude of musical forms and to an unprecedented cultural enrichment.

The group reaches out to all kinds of players – whether beginners or at a more advanced level – of instruments traditionally found in US string bands (violin, mandolin, claw hammer banjo, guitar and double bass) but can be open to other string instruments (e.g. ukulele, cello and so on). The instrumentalists will sometimes be called on to sing and to set some traditional songs to music. An end-of -year concert will be prepared with the students as the course progresses.

Courses will be given orally: we will learn the pieces without a score and we will play them in a way that will give rise to the style, atmosphere and joy in playing together that are characteristic of this kind of music. We shall go on to enhance our abilities with the help of rhythmic exercises and series of variations or ornamentations, but the first stage will be above all to learn the repertoire and to play or sing it together just as they did, and still do, over there. The collective and participatory experience will be in the forefront.

The group will be coordinated by two multi-instrumentalists, Lorcan Fahy (violin, mandolin) and Jérémie Fraboni (banjo claw hammer, guitar, voice).

Lorcan Fahy intends to focus mostly on the ensemble’s melodists.

Jérémie Fraboni will mainly deal with the harmonic instruments and sung parts of the string band.

Jérémie Fraboni

Born in Brussels, Jérémie Fraboni is a guitar and banjo player, a singer and a composer. After studying the classical guitar, he conducted several projects featuring his own compositions. His last project, One Horse Land, is inspired by the current US folk scene. For the last couple of years, he has been in contact with American banjo players, online, in order to continue improving his knowledge of the old-time banjo claw hammer. He studies these techniques, different from those of bluegrass, in contemporary and traditional applications such as Anglo-Saxon ballads and tunes of the Appalachian old-time players. He intends to be mostly involved with the string band’s harmonic instruments and the songs.

Lorcan Fahy

Lorcan Fahy is a violinist, a mandolin player and a composer of Belgian and Irish descent.  Between his Irish violinist father and the musicians who frequently came by the house, he grew up in an atmosphere of traditional music.  After studying the classical violin at an academy and at the Conservatory, he spent a year in Ireland, immersing himself in the Irish violin and mandolin.  He still attends workshops whenever he can.

 

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come discover this course during the free meeting session on Tuesday the 17th of September 2019, from 20:30 to 22:00.

Ensemble (10 lessons/cycle)

Tuesday: 20:30 – 22:00

Registration is mandatory from the second lesson of a cycle.

Place

MABO – Lycée Maria-Boodschap

Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.
Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

 

Discount! There is a discount for people who follow the course mandoline or the course banjo:

  • 100€/cycle

Contact Muziekpublique for more information.

Subscribe

>
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 120
Cycle 2
17/12
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
03/03
10/03
€ 120
Cycle 3
24/03
31/03
21/04
28/04
05/05
12/05
19/05
26/05
02/06
09/06
€ 120

120,00300,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

American Roots String Ensemble

Jérémie Fraboni
Lorcan Fahy
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Le cours d’ensemble American Roots String

L’American Roots String Ensemble de Muziekpublique se réunit une fois par semaine autour des musiques traditionnelles occidentales nées des grandes migrations du XIXème siècles aux Etats-Unis.

Concrètement, on s’intéressera principalement aux musiques old-time US mais aussi québécoises et à leurs racines irlandaises ou Ulster Scots. On y apprendra leurs spécificités rythmiques (Jigs, Reels, Brandis, Fiddle Tunes,…), mélodiques (ornementations, patterns, variations, accentuations,…) harmoniques (accords, lignes de basses) ainsi que quelques uns de leurs chants aux origines multiples conservés grâce au travail des song collectors.

Ces musiques sont le fruit d’échanges improbables qui se sont opérés aux Etats-Unis au fil des siècles. Elles sont issues d’un phénomène dit de « créolisation » entre les Européens qui ont colonisé le territoire, les esclaves issus du continent africain et les quelques autochtones rescapés. Ces rencontres ont donné naissance à une multitude de musiques et à une richesse culturelle sans précédent.

L’ensemble s’adresse à tous les joueurs – débutants ou avancés – d’instruments traditionnels du string band états-unien (violon, mandoline, banjo (clawhammer), guitare et contrebasse) mais il peut s’ouvrir à d’autres instruments à cordes (ukulele, violoncelle, …). Les instrumentistes seront parfois également appelés à chanter et à mettre en musique certains chants traditionnels. Un concert de fin d’année sera préparé avec les élèves au fil des cours.

Les cours se donneront de manière orale : nous apprendrons les morceaux sans partitions et les jouerons afin de dégager un style, une ambiance et une joie de jouer propre à ces musiques. On approfondira ensuite avec des exercices rythmiques, des pistes de variations ou d’ornementations mais la première étape sera, avant tout, d’apprendre du répertoire et de le jouer ou chanter ensemble comme ça se faisait et se fait encore là-bas. L’aspect collectif et participatif est primordial.

Les professeurs

L’ensemble sera coordonné par les multi-instrumentistes Lorcan Fahy (violon, mandoline) et Jérémie Fraboni (banjo clawhammer, guitare, chant).

Jérémie Fraboni

Jérémie Fraboni est un guitariste, banjoïste, chanteur et compositeur bruxellois. Passé par une formation académique à la guitare classique, il a mené de nombreux projets basés sur ses propres compositions (dont le dernier en date, One Horse Land, inspiré par la folk US actuelle). Depuis quelques années, il perfectionne au contact virtuel des banjoïstes américains la technique old-time du banjo clawhammer (différente de celle utilisée en bluegrass) dans un usage contemporain ou traditionnel (ballades anglo-saxonnes et old-time des Appalaches). Il s’occupera principalement des instruments harmoniques et des parties chantées du string band.

Lorcan Fahy

Lorcan Fahy est un violoniste, mandoliniste et compositeur belgo-irlandais. Formé à l’académie et conservatoire en violon classique, il a depuis toujours baigné dans les musiques traditionnelles grâce à son père (violoniste irlandais) et les musiciens qui passaient continuellement à la maison. Il a d’ailleurs vécu un an en Irlande pour approfondir le sujet (violon la journée, mandoline dans les pubs le soir) et continue à assister à une multitudes de workshops dès que l’occasion se présente.

Autodidacte à la mandoline (qui traînait à la maison), il n’arrête pas de se perfectionner virtuellement et demande conseil partout ou il croise un joueur expérimenté. Son amour va pour les mandolinistes américains tels que Mike Marshall, Tim O’Brien, Chris Thile, David Grisman, Jethro Burns, Sam Bush ; irlandais tels que Andy Irvine, Declan Corey, Marla Fibisch ; ou encore les brésiliens Jacob Do Bandolim, Hamilton De Hollanda.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 17 septembre 2019, de 20h30 à 22h.

Ensemble (10 cours/cycle)

Mardi: 20h30 – 22h

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle.

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.          

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 120
Cycle 2
17/12
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
03/03
10/03
€ 120
Cycle 3
24/03
31/03
21/04
28/04
05/05
12/05
19/05
26/05
02/06
09/06
€ 120

120,00300,00

Effacer