(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

The Release of the CD ‘Jola - Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels’

A mystical ceremony - Gnawa Festival
Thursday 5 March 2020 - 18h30
CC Jacques Franck - Chaussee De Waterloo 94, 1060 Saint-Gilles
THU 05/03

On the occasion of the release of JOLA, Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels, a CD made around the heritage of the Brussels Gnawa musicians, Muziekpublique and the Centre Culturel Jacques Franck get together to offer you a lila, a mystical Gnawa ceremony.  This is, of course, a generous and exceptional invitation.

 

The Gnawa community originated during the period of Sub-Saharan slavery in Morocco.  During the last twenty years, a Gnawa community has settled down in Brussels, becoming the largest Gnawa community outside of Morocco.  Its representatives meet regularly in order to celebrate the lila, a ritual consisting of states of trance and possession, which honors the entities of the invisible worlds, the Saints and God.

 

Nourished by animistic, Sufi and popular Moroccan references, the lilas (meaning “night” in the dialect) generally start at nightfall.  Dances and songs, executed in a precise order, follow each other and vary according to the ritual’s objective, to the region of its origin, to the musicians or participants, and to the context of the performance.

 

Program

 

  • 6:30 pm Introduction to the lila (in the form of a conference or exchange) par Hélène Sechehaye (at the Pianofabriek) 
  • 7 pm Beginning of the tambourine parade
  • 7:30 pm The parade arrives at the CC Jacques Franck 
  • 8 pm The ceremony begins
  • 24h00 the sharing of the meal

 

Remarks 

The drinks (water, tea) and the traditional meal will be prepared by the musicians’ next of kin.  Exceptionally, the bar of the CC Jacques Franck will be closed.  During the ceremony, we will be invited to sit on pillows, onstage, around the musicians.

 

A link to read a publication of Hélène Sechehaye and Stéphanie Weisser about the Gnawa musicians in Brussels (in French):

https://journals.openedition.org/brussels/3400

 

Musicians

Abdelwahid Stitou, Rida Stitou, Driss Benjaafar and Abderrahmane Benjaafar & the Brussels Gnawas.

FREE – online reservation advised.

 

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Video

(0)
(0)
Retour vers les concerts

Sortie du CD ‘Jola - Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels’

Cérémonie mystique - Gnawa Festival
Le jeudi 5 mars 2020 - 18h30
CC Jacques Franck - Chaussée de Waterloo 94, 1060 St-Gilles
JEU 05/03

A l’occasion de la sortie de l’album JOLA, Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels, CD réalisé autour de l’héritage des musiciens Gnawa de Bruxelles, Muziekpublique et le CC Jacques Franck s’associent pour proposer une lila, une soirée de cérémonie mystique gnawa. Une invitation aussi généreuse qu’exceptionnelle.

Les Gnawa forment une communauté issue de l’esclavage subsaharien au Maroc. Depuis vingt ans, une communauté gnawa s’est peu à peu installée à Bruxelles, devenant petit à petit la plus importante communauté gnawa hors du Maroc. Ses représentants se retrouvent régulièrement pour célébrer la lila, rituel de transes et de possessions qui honore les entités du monde invisible, les Saints et Dieu.

Nourrie pas des références animistes, soufies et populaires marocaines, les lilas (« nuit » en dialecte) débutent généralement à la tombée de la nuit. Des danses et de chants exécutés dans un ordre précis se succèdent et varient en fonction de l’objectif du rituel, de la région d’origine, des musiciens (ou participants) et des contextes de performance.

Programme

18h30 Introduction à la lila (conférence-échange) par Hélène Sechehaye (@Pianofabriek)
19h00
Départ de la parade tambourinée
19h30
Arrivée de la parade (@Jacques Franck)
20h00
Début de la cérémonie
24h00 Repas à partager

Remarque

Les boissons (eau, thé) et repas traditionnels seront préparés par les proches des artistes. Le bar du Jacques Franck sera exceptionnellement fermé. Lors de la cérémonie, nous sommes invités à nous asseoir sur scène (coussins) autours des musiciens.

Lire une publication Brussels Studies d’Hélène Sechehaye et de Stéphanie Weisser sur les musiciens gnawas à Bruxelles

Musiciens

Abdelwahid Stitou, Rida Stitou, Driss Benjaafar et Abderrahmane Benjaafar & les Gnawas de Bruxelles.

GRATUIT – Réservation en ligne conseillée

 

VOIR tout le programme du GNAWA FESTIVAL

 

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Video