(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

Musical Conference : Gnawa Music in Brussels

Gnawa Festival
Thursday 27 February 2020 - 18h00
Darna - Rue des Pierres 25/27, 1000 Bruxelles
THU 27/02

Free of charge – no reservation necessary

 

The Gnawa community in Brussels comprises some 40 musicians, making it this culture’s most important community outside of Morocco.  The presence of these musicians has been known for 20 years.  For the first time, there’s the project of an album bringing together m’allemin (master musicians) and koyo (dancing musicians) originating from Brussels, Tangiers, Fez, Casablanca, Marrakech and Salé, a reflection of the Brussels Gwana universe.  The album, called Jola – Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels (Muziekpublique 12), is one of the results of the doctoral work of musicologist Hélène Sechehaye, as part of her dissertation at the Université Libre de Bruxelles and the Université Jean Monnet.

 

In order to introduce the album, Darna and Muziekpublique propose an exchange-conference.  Hélène Sechehaye will examine the Gnawa from the Brussels-Marolles area and their musical practices, within the local context of their installation in Brussels.  She will also address the links between this group and Morocco and the other diaspora countries.  While analyzing its rituals (lila), concerts, rehearsals, marriage repertoires and the informal moments of the music, she will present a portrait of the community.

 

The reinstallation of the Gnawa outside of Morocco implies a constant adaptation of their practices, in order to be able to integrate themselves into the different societies in which they are led to evolve – be it the Moroccan communities in Brussels, in Morocco or elsewhere abroad; be it in the Belgian society, in professional circuits of world music…  How do the Gnawa give a sense to their musical practice in Belgium?  What can one learn from their acrobatic dances and their bewitching melodies?  How do they legitimize their practices, how do they place themselves within the heritage of the sub-Saharan slaves that arrived in Morocco during the last centuries?

 

After a short introductory conference, these issues will be discussed.  A musical moment will be offered by one of the Brussels Gnawa, Driss Benjaafar.

 

The album Jola – Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels is a project supported by Darna, Muziekpublique, the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, the Centre Interdisciplinaire d’Etudes et de Recherches sur l’Expression Contemporaine, Gnaoua Culture and the Société Française d’Ethnomusicologie.

 

DISCOVER the entire program of the GNAWA FESTIVAL

 

 

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Video

(0)
(0)
Retour vers les concerts

Conférence musicale : la musique gnawa à Bruxelles

Gnawa Festival
Le jeudi 27 février 2020 - 18h00
Darna - Rue des Pierres 25/27, 1000 Bruxelles
JEU 27/02

Gratuit – sans réservation

La communauté Gnawa de Bruxelles compte près de 40 musiciens, ce qui en fait la plus importante communauté de cette culture présente hors du Maroc. Leur présence à Bruxelles remonte à 20 ans, et pour la première fois, un projet d’album est né, qui réunit des musiciens m‘allemin (maîtres) et des koyo (musiciens-danseurs) originaires de Bruxelles, Tanger, Fès, Casablanca, Marrakech et Salé, reflet de l’univers gnawa bruxellois. Le titre de cet album est Jola – Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels (Muziekpublique 12) , et il est l’un des résultats du travail de doctorat mené par la musicologue Hélène Sechehaye dans le cadre de sa thèse à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles et l’Université Jean Monnet.

Pour présenter ce CD, Darna et Muziekpublique proposent une conférence-échange. Hélène Sechehaye s’intéressera aux Gnawa maroxellois et à leurs pratiques musicales, à la fois dans le contexte local de leur installation à Bruxelles et en étudiant les liens entretenus avec le Maroc et les autres pays de la diaspora. Un portrait de la communauté sera dressé en analysant leurs rituels (lila), concerts, répétitions, répertoires de mariage et tous les moments informels de musique.

La réinstallation des Gnawa hors du Maroc rend compte d’une adaptation constante de leurs pratiques, pour s’intégrer aux différentes sociétés dans lesquelles ils évoluent : communautés marocaines de Bruxelles, du Maroc et de l’étranger ; société belge ; circuit professionnel des musiques du monde… Comment les Gnawa donnent-ils du sens à leur pratique musicale en Belgique ? Que peut-on apprendre en se penchant sur leurs danses acrobatiques et sur leurs mélodies envoûtantes ? Comment légitiment-ils leurs pratiques et se placent-ils dans l’héritage des esclaves subsahariens arrivés au Maroc au cours des siècles derniers ?

Ces questions seront discutées ensemble après une courte conférence introductive. Un moment musical sera présenté par Driss Benjaafar l’un des musiciens gnawa de Bruxelles.

L’album Jola – Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels est un projet soutenu par Darna, Muziekpublique, la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, le Centre Interdisciplinaire d’Etudes et de Recherches sur l’Expression Contemporaine, Gnaoua Culture et la Société Française d’Ethnomusicologie.

 

VOIR tout le programme du GNAWA FESTIVAL

 

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Video