(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

La Calandria trio (Mexico) & Karina Clavijo y las damajuanas (Ecuador) + Fandango Jarocho con La Calandria

Sonamos Latinoamerica Festival
Saturday 28 September 2019 - 20h00
Molière Theatre - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
SAT 28/09

*La Calandria trio* unites three young musicians from Jalapa, Veracruz and Mexico around a passion for the jarocho sound.   This music, typical of the Gulf of Mexico region, became famous because of the well-known title “La Bamba”.  Though influenced by different musical genres like jazz, blues and symphonic music, the performers’ hearts remain attached to the musical and poetic richness of the jarocho fandango sound.   Alejandra Paniaguam, Raymundo Pavon and Arantxa Pelaez create their own pieces of music with the harp, the jarana and the leona.  Their texts recall everyday life in Mexico.

Singer, author and researcher *Karina Clavijo* is a key protagonist of the Afro-Ecuadorian music originating in the province of Esmeraldas, in Ecuador’s north-eastern region.  She usually plays the marimba, but also drums, the bombo, the cununo and other instruments specific to the region.  This kind of music, often performed at weddings, is recognizable by its typical songs in the form of questions and answers, and by its rhythms, such as the currulao and the bambuco.  Along with the Damajuanas and their rousing rhythms, Karina Clavijo delivers a strong battle statement for the equality of women.

After the concerts, the La Calandria group will offer us a *Fandango Jarocho* in the theatre lobby.  The Fandango Veracruzano, also called Fandango Jarocho, is a popular party that traditionally takes place in the centre and the south of Mexico’s state of Veracruz.  The Fandango’s principle is to gather the region’s musicians and dancers, who will, together, improvise the lyrics, the music and the dances.  They will alternate for a period that can last from a couple of hours to several days.

We welcome all musicians and dancers who would like to join us in this traditional music jam.

*Calandria Trio:*
*Arantxa Pelaez Chazaro: *versada, jarana, leona, song
*Raymundo Pavon Lozano:* jarana, song
*Alejandra Paniagua Platas:* harp, song

*Karina Clavijo:*
*Karina Clavijo: *marimba, guasa (flute), song
*Johana Jara:* bombo, song
*Violeta Munoz:* flute, song
*Ana Paola Chila: *congas, cununo, song

Expo

Don’t miss the marionette exhibition of Hernan Lira, the Argentine Gepetto! This puppet maker really has the gift of giving life to his creations, such is the passion and love which guides his craft. You can find his work on display over the three concerts of the festival. You may also bump into him in and around the theatre.

 

Latin América hosts an incredible diversity of musical traditions, inspired by the fusion of percussion instruments from Africa, wind instruments from Europe and the songs and flutes of the indian peoples. The *Sonamos Latinoamerica* festival has celebrated this diversity for many years and returns to Belgium for the fifth time for a week of concerts, parties and exhibitions.  And on this anniversary edition women artists will be to the fore !

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Videos

(0)
Retour vers les concerts

La Calandria trio (Mexico) & Karina Clavijo y las damajuanas (Ecuador) + Fandango Jarocho con La Calandria

Sonamos Latinoamerica Festival
Le samedi 28 septembre 2019 - 20h00
Théâtre Molière - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
SAM 28/09

La Calandria Trio réunit trois jeunes musicien.ne.s de Jalapa, Veracruz et Mexico autour d’une passion pour le son jarocho. Cette musique typique de la région autour du Golf du Mexique est notamment célèbre pour le titre « La Bamba ». Bien que le trio soit influencé par différents genres musicaux comme le jazz, le blues et la musique symphonique, le coeur des musicien.ne.s reste attaché à la richesse musicale et poétique du fandango, son jarocho, qu’ils ont appris de leurs maîtres. Alejandra Paniaguam, Raymundo Pavon et Arantxa Pelaez créent leur propre musique à l’aide de la harpe, du jarana, du leona, accompagnée de leurs textes évoquant la vie quotidienne au Mexique.

La chanteuse, auteure et chercheuse Karina Clavijo est une protagoniste incontournable de la musique afro-équatorienne de la province d’Esmeraldas dans le nord-est de l’Equateur. Son instrument principal est le marimba, accompagné de tambours et d’autres instruments spécifiques à cette région, comme le bombo et le cununo. Cette musique jouée à l’occasion des mariages et des fêtes se reconnait à son chant typique sous forme de questions-réponses et à ses rythmes comme notamment le currulao et le bambuco. Avec Las Damajuanas et ses rythmes entraînants, c’est un message fort de lutte et d’égalité pour toutes les femmes que défend Klarina Clavijo.

Les concerts seront poursuivis par un fandango jarocho au foyer, animé par le groupe La Calandria. Le Fandango Veracruzano, aussi appelé Fandango Jarocho, est une fête populaire qui se déroule traditionnellement dans le centre et sud de l’Etat de Veracruz au Mexique. Le principe du Fandango, est de réunir des musiciens et des danseurs de la région qui ensemble improviseront ; vers, musique et pas de danse tout en s’alternant durant la fête qui peut durer de quelques heures à plusieurs jours.

Bienvenues aux musiciens et danseurs qui souhaitent participer à cette jam traditionnelle.

Calandria Trio:

  • Arantxa Pelaez Chazaro: versada, jarana, leona, chant
  • Raymundo Pavon Lozano: jarana, chant
  • Alejandra Paniagua Platas: harpe, chant

Karina Clavijo:

  • Karina Clavijo: marimba, guasa (flûte), chant
  • Johana Jara: bombo, chant
  • Violeta Munoz: fluit, zang, flûtes, chant
  • Ana Paola Chila: congas, cununo, chant

L’Amérique latine révèle une incroyable diversité de traditions musicales, puisant son inspiration à la croisée des rythmes venus d’Afrique, des instruments à vent européens et des chants et flûtes des peuples indiens. Le festival Sonamos Latinoamerica se donne depuis plusieurs années la mission de mettre en lumière cette diversité et revient pour la cinquième fois en Belgique pour une semaine de concerts, de fête et d’expositions.  Et pour cette édition anniversaire, les artistes féminines seront à l’honneur !

Expo: Ne manquez pas l’exposition de marionnettes d’Hernan Lira, le Gepetto argentin! Ce fabricant de marionnettes a en effet le don de leur donner vie, tant la passion et l’amour imprègnent son activité d’artisan ! Son travail sera à découvrir en exposition lors des trois concerts du festival. Vous aurez aussi peut-être l’occasion de le rencontrer dans les couloirs du théâtre.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Videos