Courses overview

Ensemble Choro & Samba

Everton Firmeza
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The ensemble’s name says it all. In this ensemble you will learn all about the rich repertoire of choro and samba, Brazilian folk music which has lost none of its vitality. Everton Firmeza (counterbass) is himself an exponent of these music styles and has all that is needed to pass on his knowledge of the repertoire and the joy of playing together.

Choro

”Choro is classical music that you play on bare feet and with blisters on your hands” (Aquiles Rique Rei, Brazilian singer)

The literal meaning of choro is “song of complaint”. However, owing to the fast rhythm and the cheerful melodies you don’t realise that the songs are really about pain. This urban folk music style (originally from Rio de Janeiro) is recognisable by its virtuoso improvisations and catchy contra-rhythms.

A choro ensemble consists of guitar and cavaquinho, often complemented by mandolin, clarinet, saxophone and violin. The rhythm section always includes a pandeiro.

Samba

The samba also originates in Rio de Janeiro and is the product of rhythms brought by slaves from Africa. Samba is very percussive music played on festive occasions such as carnival; the music is traditionally played on string instruments such as the guitar and the cavaquinho; the rhythm section includes tamborim and pandeiro. This simple basis is often enlarged by instruments including clarinet, trumpet and flute.

Everton Firmeza

Everton Firmeza is a double bass player from São Paulo. He studied composition at the Federal University of Minas Gerais in Bel Horizonte. He then specialised in traditional Brazilian music at the Berklee Souza Lima Conservatory in São Paulo. He plays in several ensembles, including Deriva Sons and Assanhado, and plays bass with Maíra Labanca and Nego Henrique. He is also a member of the Clube do Choro de Bruxelas with flutist Sylvain Boisvert, among others. He also teaches workshops at Youth and Music.

Everton has performed all over Brazil, as well as in Argentina, Belgium and Cuba. Whether in Brazil or abroad, his music always pays tribute to his country and its musical, artistic and cultural richness, to strengthen its traditions and defend its reputation as an important cultural reference.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Inscriptions open on August 7 2024!

Come and discover this course during the free session on Wednesday 18 September 2024, from 8:00 pm to 9:30 pm.

Ensemble (10 cours/cycle)

Wednesday: 8:00 pm – 9:30 pm

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle.

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

If necessary the teacher can change the calendar in consultation with the students.

Subscribe

>
This course takes place on Wednesday
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
27/11
04/12
€ 135
Cycle 1
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
26/02
12/03
19/03
€ 135
Cycle 1
26/03
02/04
23/04
30/04
07/05
14/05
21/05
28/05
04/06
11/06
€ 135
For the whole year € 330
Inscriptions start 7/08

Retour vers les cours

Ensemble Choro & Samba

Everton Firmeza
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Tout est dans le titre ! Dans cet ensemble vous explorez le riche répertoire de choro et de samba, musique populaire brésilienne qui n’a rien perdu de sa vitalité. Everton Firmeza (contrebasse) est lui-même un ambassadeur de cette musique et est bien placé pour transmettre le répertoire et le plaisir du temps passé à jouer ensemble.

Choro

« Le choro est de la musique classique, vous jouez les pieds nus et des callosités sur vos mains » (Aquiles Rique Rei, chanteuse brésilienne) Même si littéralement choro signifie « complainte », le rythme rapide et les mélodies vives vous emportent dans la bonne humeur. Cette musique populaire urbaine (originaire de Rio de Janeiro) est reconnue pour les improvisations virtuose. Un ensemble de choro est composé de guitare, de cavaquinho, et souvent complétée par la mandoline, la clarinette, le saxophone et le violon. Le pandeiro est essentiel pour la section rythmique.

Samba

La samba est née à Rio de Janeiro et est le produit des rythmes africains apportés par les esclaves africains. La Samba est une musique très percutante jouée lors des fêtes, comme le carnaval. Traditionnellement, cette musique est jouée avec des instruments à cordes comme la guitare et cavaquinho, et pandeiro tamborim qui assure la section rythmique. Cette conception simple est souvent complétée par la clarinette, trompette, flûte,…

Everton Firmeza

Everton Firmeza est un contrebassiste originaire de São Paulo. Il a étudié la composition à l’université fédérale de Minas Gerais à Bel Horizonte. Il s’est ensuite spécialisé dans la musique traditionnelle brésilienne au Berklee Souza Lima Conservatory de São Paulo. Il joue dans divers ensembles tels que Deriva sons, Assanhado et est bassiste avec Maíra Labanca et Nego Henrique. Il fait également partie du Clube do Choro de Bruxelas avec le flûtiste Sylvain Boisvert, entre autres. Il donne également des workshops avec les Jeuness musicales.

Everton s’est déjà produit dans tout le Brésil, mais aussi en Argentine, en Belgique et à Cuba. Que ce soit au Brésil ou à l’étranger, sa musique fait toujours l’éloge de son pays et de sa richesse musicale, artistique et culturelle, afin de valoriser ses traditions et de consolider sa réputation en tant que référence culturelle importante dans le monde contemporain aux multiples facettes.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 7 août 2024 ! 

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mercredi 18 septembre 2024, de 20h00 à 21h30.

Cours d’ensemble (10 cours/cycle)

Mercredi: 20h00 – 21h30

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. 

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Ce cours a lieu le mercredi
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
27/11
04/12
€ 135
Cycle 1
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
26/02
12/03
19/03
€ 135
Cycle 1
26/03
02/04
23/04
30/04
07/05
14/05
21/05
28/05
04/06
11/06
€ 135
Pour l’année entière € 330

 135,00 330,00