Courses overview

Son Jarocho

Israel Alonso
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

This course aims to collectively play the repertoire of the Son Jarocho. Many different instruments can therefore join this ensemble, provided you have a basic knowledge of your instrument.

This genre is typical from the villages of Veracruz, a farming region of East Mexico. The Son Jarocho is a popular music played during weddings, harvesting fests or funerals. Its roots lie in the Caribbean, Spanish and Afro-Cuban music, which gives the genre its rich colour. The origins of the Son Jarocho are also closely linked to the harbour of Veracruz, a cultural crossroad that lived from the slave trade from Africa.

The Son Jarocho is mainly played with string instruments such as guitars, violins or harps, although sometimes some percussions are added to the composition. This traditional music is still vivid, as it has been transmitted from musician to musician and is still very much anchored in the Mexican culture. The most famous song, “La Bamba”, ensured that the Son Jarocho has a place in every party in the whole world.

Israel Alonso

Israel Alonso is a musician of Mexican origin who lives and works in Brussels. Active in various ensembles, he builds bridges between traditional South-American genres and contemporary musical influences he picks up in Brussels. He is also one of the initiators of the festivities around ‘Dia de Muertos in les Marolles’.

 Israel is barely twenty when he first leaves his hometown of Mexico City to tour Europe. With the traditional Mexican music group “Tonalli Ambar” he visits Germany, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, the Netherlands and Belgium. His suitcase contains string instruments (guitar, guitarrón, jarana, vihuela), wind instruments (saxophone, flute) and a marimba.

 Besides playing and writing music, Israel also teaches traditional Mexican music, music theory and singing. He starts up several groups in Mexico: Onírisonante (2008), a company for street theatre and music, and SonÓsfera (2015), a jazz-fusion group that juggles with different traditional Mexican music genres and with which he tours Spain and France. Once settled in Brussels, he and French flute-player Sylvain Boisvert set up the quartet 4Cascabel (violin, guitar, saxophone and double bass), specializing in ‘Son Jarocho’.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Inscriptions open on August 8 2022!

Come and discover this course during the free session on Tuesday 20 September 2022, between 8:30 pm and 10:00 pm.

Collective course (10 courses/cycle)

Tuesday: 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle. 

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

If necessary the teacher can vary the calendar in consultation with the course members.

Subscribe

>
Cycle 1
27/09
04/10
11/10
18/10
08/11
15/11
22/11
29/11
06/12
13/12
€ 135
Cycle 2
10/01
17/01
24/01
31/01
07/02
14/02
28/02
07/03
14/03
21/03
€ 135
Cycle 3
28/03
18/04
25/04
02/05
09/05
16/05
23/05
30/05
06/06
13/06
€ 135

135,00315,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Son Jarocho

Israel Alonso
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Ce cours d’ensemble est destiné à jouer le répertoire du Son Jarocho collectivement. De nombreux instruments différents peuvent donc rejoindre cet ensemble, moyennant une certaine connaissance de base de son instrument.

Genre musical typique des villages de Veracruz, région paysanne de l’est du Mexique, le Son Jarocho est une musique populaire jouée lors des mariages, des fêtes des récoltes ou des enterrements. Ses racines caribéennes, espagnoles et afro-cubaines s’entremêlent pour donner à cette musique toute sa couleur. Les origines du Son Jarocho se perdent dans les siècles et remonteraient à l’époque où le port de Veracruz, carrefour culturel, vivait du commerce des esclaves arrachés à l’Afrique.

Le Son Jarocho se joue principalement avec des instruments à cordes comme des guitares de conception différentes, un violon ou encore une harpe même si parfois quelques percussions se rajoutent à la composition.

Cette éclatante musique traditionnelle est encore d’une incroyable vitalité. Si son art se transmet de musicien en musicienne, à l’oral, il est profondément ancré dans la culture de toustes les Mexicain.nes. Son plus célèbre morceau, « La Bamba », a offert au Son Jarocho une place de choix dans les playlists des fêtes du monde entier.

Israel Alonso

Israel Alonso est un musicien d’origine mexicaine, vivant depuis quelques années à Bruxelles. Actif dans plusieurs ensembles, il part des musiques traditionnelles sud-américaines pour créer des ponts avec d’autres genres qu’on retrouve à Bruxelles. Il est également l’un des initiateurs de la fête contemporaine ‘Dia de Muertos dans les Marolles’.

Originaire de Mexico City, Israel avait à peine 20 ans lorsqu’il est parti en tournée européenne avec le groupe de musique traditionnelle mexicaine « Tonalli Ambar ». Ainsi il visite l’Allemagne, la Pologne, la République Tchèque, la Slovaquie, la Hollande et la Belgique. Multi-instrumentiste de formation, il y joue des instruments à cordes (guitare, guitarrón, jarana, vihuela), à vents (saxophone, flûte) et le marimba.

En plus de sa carrière de musicien, il commence à travailler comme professeur de musique traditionnelle mexicaine, de théorie musicale et de chant. Il aide également à créer plusieurs collectifs artistiques au Mexique, comme l’ensemble de musique et théâtre de rue Onírisonante (2008) et SonÓsfera (2015), un groupe de jazz et fusion de diverses musiques traditionnelles mexicaines avec lequel il repart en tournée européenne (France et Espagne). Une fois arrivé à Bruxelles, il crée avec le flûtiste français Sylvain Boisvert le quartet 4Cascabel (violon, guitare, saxophone et contrebasse) spécialisé en Son Jarocho (musique traditionnelle du Mexique).

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 8 août 2022 ! 

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 20 septembre 2022, de 20h30 à 22h.

Cours d’ensemble (10 cours/cycle)

Mardi: 20h30-22h

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. 

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

L’affiliation à la carte de membre de Muziekpublique est obligatoire pour s’inscrire à un cours.

Pas encore une carte de membre? Cliquez ici  pour ajouter la carte de membre au panier.

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves. 

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
27/09
04/10
11/10
18/10
08/11
15/11
22/11
29/11
06/12
13/12
€ 135
Cycle 2
10/01
17/01
24/01
31/01
07/02
14/02
28/02
07/03
14/03
21/03
€ 135
Cycle 3
28/03
18/04
25/04
02/05
09/05
16/05
23/05
30/05
06/06
13/06
€ 135

135,00315,00

Effacer