(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

Matonge Vibes

Bru Jazz WE
Friday 24 May 2019 - 20h00
Molière Theatre - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
FRI 24/05

In the context of the Brussels Jazz Weekend, Muziekpublique is organising a crazy night of music, dancing and exhibition on Matonge, the African neighbourhood where the Molière theatre is located. Three bands representing the musical diversity of the most colourful area of Ixelles will play on stage and in the foyer for a festive night!

 

20h00: Bao Sissoko (kora), Malick Pathe Sow (hoddu, guitar, vocals) and Moussa Niang (vocals) are three famous names in Senegalese music in Brussels. Bao Sissoko, well-known in Belgium and internationally for his collaboration with Tamala, was not so long ago playing in London next to Damon Alberan (Blur), Rokia Traore and Dobet Gnahore. Malick Pathe Sow embodies like nobody else the rich Peulh tradition. Moussa Niang has been singing for years next to the Malian master of the kora, Toumani Diabate. They will surprise us this time with Senegalese Blues and invite on stage the dancer Anne-Marie Ange Sibi to improvise on their music.

 

21h30: Tano is the project of the dancer and musician Tister Ikomo, in which he mixes his Congolese roots with other styles of world music and dances. Tister is also a choreographer, a percussionist, a Balafon-player and a Likembe-player. He is well-known for working with Alain Platel and Fabrizio Cassol on the production ‘Coup Fatal’ of the KVS and Ballets C de la B, which went on worldtout. He also took part in various ballets in Congo and played with some great music masters. He comes to Brussels with a more than complete show, and catchy dance music!

 

23h00: Finally, we will finish with a music and dance party in the foyer of the theatre with the band Super Rumba. Six Congolese musicians who we could see playing in the past years during the legendary concerts of Rumba Lumumba. This will be a festive ending during which classics from le Grand Kalle, Tabu Ley or Franco will be interspersed with some of their own compositions.

 

Cherry on top, the works of the artists from the “Lumuma Library, Matonge Art Gallery” collective will be on exhibition on the walls of the corridor for the Matonge Vibes party. This collective is part of the project “Connecteur-Athénée”.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Videos

(0)
Retour vers les concerts

Matonge Vibes

Bru Jazz WE
Le vendredi 24 mai 2019 - 20h00
Théâtre Molière - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
VEN 24/05

Dans le cadre du Brussels Jazz Week-end, Muziekpublique organise une folle soirée de musique, de danse et d’expo dans l’esprit de Matonge, le quartier africain où se trouve Muziekpublique et le théâtre Molière. Trois groupes représentant la diversité musicale du quartier le plus coloré d’Ixelles se succéderont sur la scène et dans le foyer pour une soirée festive!

20h00: Bao Sissoko (kora), Malick Pathe Sow (hoddu, guitare, chant), et Moussa Niang (chant) sont trois grands noms de la musique sénégalaise à Bruxelles. Bao Sissoko, reconnu en Belgique et à l’étranger pour sa collaboration avec Tamala, était encore il y a peu à Londres aux côtés de Damon Albarn (Blur), Rokia Traore et Dobet Gnahore. Malick Pathe Sow incarne comme nul autre la riche tradition peulh. Moussa Niang chante depuis des années auprès du maître malien de la kora Toumani Diabate. Ils nous surprennent cette fois-ci avec du blues sénégalais accompagné par le percussioniste togolais Octave Komlan et invitent à leurs côtés la danseuse Anne-Marie Ange Sibi pour de l’improvisation de danse sur leur musique.

21h30: Tano est le projet du danseur et musicien Tister Ikomo, dans lequel il mélange ses racines congolaises avec d’autres styles de danse et de musique du monde. Tister est également chorégraphe, percussionniste, joueur de balafon et de likembe. Il est connu pour avoir travaillé avec Alain Platel et Frabizio Cassol sur la production ‘Coup Fatal’ du KVS et de Ballets C de la B, qui a fait le tour du monde. Il a également participé à divers ballets au Congo et joué avec certains grands noms de la musique. Il nous vient ici avec un spectacle plus que complet, et une musique à danser des plus contagieuses !

23h00: Nous terminerons avec une fête musicale et dansante dans le Foyer du théâtre avec le groupe Super Rumba. Six musiciens congolais que l’on a pu voir sur scène lors des concerts légendaires de Rumba Lumumba. Ce sera un événement de clôture festif au cours duquel des classiques du Grand Kalle, de Tabu Ley ou de Franco seront entrecoupés de certains de leurs propres morceaux.

Cerise sur le gâteau, les œuvres d’artistes du collectif « Lumumba Library, Matonge Art Gallery » seront exposées sur les murs du couloir à l’occasion de la soirée Matonge Vibes. Ce collectif fait partie du projet « Connecteur-Athénée ».

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Videos