(0)
(0)
Artists overview

Voxtra

The Encounter of Vocal Heritage

The album ’The Encounter of Vocal Heritage’ was released in September 2016

This ambitious project brings together the most incredible vocal traditions. This amalgamation – not exactly a fusion, since each tradition is still perfectly recognisable – showcases Albanian iso-polyphony with its plangent quality, the cantu a tenore of the Sardinian countryside, Beko blues singing of southern Madagascar, Finnish yoik and rune singing and the Belgian récit chanté.

Voxtra is about the exploration of common ground between different traditions: a particular rhyme, similar harmonies, a melody that reminisces another one… The Sardinian tenore don’t yoddle like a Malgash, but rather they create a vocal tapestry that supports Talike’s singing. Anu doesn’t sing in Albanian with the Gjini-ensemble but the songs of her youth in Finland resound as an echo of the Albanian polyphony. Voxtra allows the traditions to engage in a dialogue with each other, the similarities come to the surface, but the emphasis lies on the uniqueness of each tradition.

Line-up

Raphael De Cock: Belgium
Anu Junnonen: Finland
Talike Gellé: Madagascar
Tenore de Monte Arvu: Sardinia – Domenico Nanu, Ivo Deledda, Tore Deledda, Manuela Deledda & Giovanni Carta
The Gjini Family: Albania – Gramoz, Brihans & Ylber Gjini

Albums

Videos

Press

Tenore de Monte de Arvu

From their village at the foot of Montalbo moutain, in the North-East of Sardinia, those singers emigrated in Belgian Limburg. The name of their band, Monte Arvu, comes from their common roots in the mountains. Monte Arvu is the heir of the polyphonic a cappella tradition fron Sardinia. The singers witness the love for their native land: in Monte Arvu, the nostalgic scope is ubiquitous. Their repertoire not only includes the shepherds’ polyphony, the “Canto a tenore”, but also “the singing with guitar” and the traditional folk songs from Sardinia.

 

Talike Gelle

Talike Gellé is a songwriter, singer ,storyteller and percussionist. At the age of 13, inspired by the Sairys (Antadroy griots) she formed her first band in her native village Ifotake. In 1985, she constituted a band with her brothers and sisters, and won the 1st price for a competition in Fort Dauphin. In 1995, in Belgium, she created her first feminine a cappella vocal trio, Ny Ajaja. Two years later, this polyphonical a cappella trio was reformed and called Tiharea. With Kilema, she created the duo Talilema thanks to which they won the third place at Sharq Taronalari international contest, in Samarkand (Ouzbekistan). She was also part of Blindnote, multicultural band, whose album was rewarded with a Musical Octave in 2011.

 

Anu Junnonen

Coming from a family of musicians, Anu was able to sing before she began to talk, according to her mother. She learned to play the piano and the flute, and began to love jazz music by playing saxophone. After College, she landed in Belgium where she discovered David Lunx’s voice, and followed classes with David, Diederick Wissels, Kris Defoort, Jeroen Van Herzeele and others at the Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. She got her diploma in 2004 as well as her teaching aggregation. She also followed classes and master classes with Deborah Brown, Mark Murphy, Bobby Mc Ferrin, Fay Claassen and Lydia Van Dam, and taught Finnish traditional singing.

Famille Gjini

Gramoz, Ylber & Brihans Gjini belong to a talented family of Albanian descent. Gramoz, the father, was part of Tirana Ensemble, including six male singers and one female soloist coming from different Albanian regions, whose intention was to honor the rich and unknown Albanian polyphonic repertoire. The songs waver between elegies, historical and epical pieces and tackle themes like love, seduction, migration, loss and death. The leader indicates a melodic basis over which the chorus creates a sweet but strong emotional response. Ylber, the uncle, is a lyrical singer whose bass song conquered the opera’s world. Due to Ylber’s powerful voice, the Albanian trio finds a stability that emphasizes the beauty of the ensemble. Brihans, the son, is a naturally talented singer who knows the traditional repertoire very well via his father ; and he also sings many other styles.

Raphael De Cock

Raphael De Cock is a multi-instrumentalist, singer in various traditional styles, and is part of Belgian and internationals musical projects. With Remi Decker he co-founded Griff, a band in which he plays numerous bagpipes and flutes. In 2009 he formed the duo Nadisuna with Vladiswar Nadishana. He sings and plays the gaita (Galician bagpipe) in the ensembles Neboa and A Contrabanda. With the trio Osuna (Emre Gültekin and Thomas Baeté), he plays the Siberian zither (chatkhan) and does throat singing. He joins in with the Irish-Scandinavian project Northern Lights and organizes multi-ethnical workshops with Waira in schools. Actually, he was invited by Graindelavoix to join the Belgian-Italian vocal project Muntagna Nera, and Melancholia.

Agenda (BE)
05/06/2015
Benjamin Tollet

“Une soirée pleine d’émotions et de danses envoûtantes qui laissera certainement les spectateurs bouche bée devant tant de beauté produite par la voix humaine”

RTBF - La Première (BE)
24/08/2015
Didier Mélon

“C’est un mélange très attachant et très patrimonial qui nous est proposé avec le projet Voxtra”

Babelmed.net (FR)
Nadia Khouri-Dagher

“l’oreille se régale d’entendre tous ces chants, basés sur des traditions anciennes de plusieurs siècles, toujours vivants heureusement.”

fRoots (RO )
15/01/2017
Andrew Cronshaw

“Each singer is full of individuality and ability, and there’s not a weak or even similar-sounding track on an album that flows beautifully through its bountiful 23 tracks”

Songlines - March 2017 (RO )
01/03/2017
Garth Cartwright

“World music ’fusions’ are something I tend to loathe, but I have to admit that one of the finest releases I’ve been enjoying is a fusion album – Voxtra’s the Encounter of Vocal Heritage.

Vrije Geluiden (Nl )
12/10/2016
Charlie Crooijmans

“Dans chaque morceau, les différentes traditions de chant se rencontrent. C’est très beau et bien dosé [trad.]”

De Subjectivisten (NL )
24/10/2016
Hector Zazou

“Ils vous laissent une impression éternelle et leur éclat mondial vous donne une chair de poule monumentale ” (traduction)

Written in Music (NL )
26/11/2016
Philippe De Cleen

“….a very beautiful release, which above all will also sound live very well.”(traduction

Mixedworldmusic.com (NL )
10/02/2017
Ton Maas

“Geen enkele combinatie lijkt te dol. Althans op papier, want bij beluistering blijkt telkens weer hoe zorgvuldig alle contrasten zijn gekozen en uitgewerkt.”

Vrije Geluiden (NL )
09/03/2017
VPRO
Le Monde en Musiques (FR )
22/01/2017

Une bien belle initiative, et un disque déjà salué et récompensé !

TRAD’ Magazine (FR )
Etienne Bours

Quand la retenue se fait juste, elle dégage bien plus de puissance que les démonstrations forcées de prouesses vocales. Ce disque en est une démonstration parfaite, avec des chanteurs qui nous rappellent ce que musique veut dire et ce que musique traditionnelle (ou musique du monde) précise encore, si on veut bien sortir des clichés pour en revenir à l’essentiel

Ekultura.hu (HU)
05/03/2017
Galgóczi Tamás,
Blogfoolk (IT)
16/12/2016
Ciro De Ros

“L’esplorazione prosegue con combinazioni di stili, di repertori e di timbri. Qualche innesto strumentale, ma sono le voci nude a trionfare negli attraversamenti dal nord iperboreo, attraverso la pluralità culturale belga gli eccezionali patrimoni immateriali del Mediterraneo, fino agli altipiani dell’isola dell’Oceano Indiano. Sperimentazioni tradizionali. ”

Radio Rap107fm (ES)
01/02/2017

Past concerts

03/11/18 Wakker voor Vrede (Langemark, BE)
29/07/18 Folk Holidays ( CZ)
27/07/18 Glatt&Verkehrt (Krems, Austria)
20/05/18 Klangwelt Festival (Toggenburg, Switzerland)
18/05/18 Faascinating Concerts (Rorbas, Switzerland)
10/12/17 De Doelen (Rotterdam, NL )
03/12/17 Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ (Amsterdam, NL )
02/12/17 Neimënster (Luxembourg , LU)
14/11/17 CC Jacques Franck (Bruxelles , BE)
07/10/17 C-Mine (Genk, BE )
30/09/17 Mixity (showcase), (Bruxelles , BE )
08/07/17 Brosella Festival (Bruxelles , BE)
23/06/17 Festival des 5 Continents (Martigny , CH )
21/05/17 Eupen Musik Marathon (Eupen, BE )
01/03/17 Vrije Geluiden Live - Tivoli Vredenburg (U, NL )
01/03/17 Vrije Geluiden (Utrecht, BE )
08/10/16 Muziekpublique (Bruxelles , BE)
02/10/16 Cultuurcentrum, (Bruges, BE )
24/09/16 De Werf, (Alost,, BE)
01/07/16 Szczezin ( Poland)
03/10/15 De Centrale (Gend , BE )
21/08/15 Festival d’Art de Huy (Huy , BE )
06/06/15 Muziekpublique (Bruxelles , BE )
Booking

Muziekpublique

Lynn Dewitte EN/FR – lynn@muziekpublique.be

Louise Janssens NL – louise@muziekpublique.be

Square du bastion 3 1050 Brussels Belgium

0032 (0)2-217.26.00

(0)
Retour vers les artistes

Voxtra

The Encounter of Vocal Heritage

Voxtra est une rencontre musicale détonnante entre cinq styles de chant traditionnels différents. Dans une fusion qui n’en est pas une – chaque tradition restant distincte des autres – nous découvrons l’isopolyphonie sanglotant d’Albanie, le cantu a tenore rural de Sardaigne, le style Beko du sud de Madagascar, les chants de rune et le joik de Finlande, et le récit chanté de Belgique. Voxtra rassemble des combinaisons audacieuses, des danses, de l’humour dans une performance à couper le souffle.

En travaillant sur des mélodies traditionnelles issues de leurs cultures respectives, ces musiciens de haut niveau sont parvenus à créer un répertoire inédit où se développent des sonorités inouïes. Du bourdon albanais aux vocalises malgaches, un univers sonore se construit en nos oreilles ravies !

Dans ce projet, nous partons des traditions de chacun pour trouver des points communs entre elles : un rythme particulier, des harmonies similaires, une mélodie qui en rappelle une autre… et croiser les apports de chacun. Les tenores sardes ne font pas des joddles comme un Malgache pourrait le faire, mais ils créent un tapis sonore polyphonique qui soutient les vocalises de Talike. Anu n’apprend pas l’albanais pour chanter avec le choeur des Gjini, mais se remémore des chants de son enfance en Finlande qui entrent en écho avec la polyphonie. Avec Voxtra, les traditions dialoguent et révèlent ce qu’elles ont de commun, tout en affirmant leur diversité.

Artistes

(tous vivant en Belgique)
Raphael De Cock  : Belgique
Anu Junnonen : Finlande
Talike Gellé  : Madagascar
Tenore de Monte Arvu : Sardaigne. Domenico Nanu, Ivo Deledda, Tore Deledda, Manuela Deledda et Giovanni Carta.
Famille Gjini : Albanie. Gramoz, Brihans et Ylber Gjini.

Albums

Videos

Presse

Tenore de Monte de Arvu

De leur village au pied des montagnes de Montalbo dans le nord-est de la Sardaigne, ces chanteurs sardes ont émigré au Limbourg belge. Le nom de leur groupe, Monte Arvu, découle de leurs racines communes dans les montagnes ; il est l’héritier de la tradition polyphonique a cappella sarde. Les chanteurs témoignent de l’amour pour leur terre natale : chez Monte Arvu, la dimension nostalgique est omniprésente. Leur répertoire comprend non seulement le type de polyphonie sarde des bergers, dit « Canto a Tenore », mais aussi « le chant avec guitare » et les chants folkloriques traditionnels de Sardaigne.

Talike Gelle

Talike Gellé est compositrice, chanteuse, conteuse et percussionniste. À 13 ans, inspirée par les Sairy (griots Antandroy), elle forme son premier groupe dans son village natal Ifotake. En 1985, elle met sur pied un groupe avec ses frères et sœurs puis obtient le 1er prix à un concours de chant dans la ville de Fort Dauphin. En 1995, en Belgique, elle crée son premier trio vocal féminin a cappella, Ny Ajaja. Deux ans plus tard, elle reforme ce groupe en trio polyphonique a cappella et lui donne le nom de Tiharea. Avec Kilema, elle forme le duo Talilema grâce auquel elle gagne la 3ème place d’un concours international ‘Sharq Taronalari’ à Samarkand (Ouzbékistan). Elle est aussi une des membres de Blindnote, groupe multiculturel dont l’album a été récompensé de l’Octave de la Musique en 2011.

 

 

Anu Junnonen

Issue d’une famille de musiciens, Anu aurait, selon sa mère, chanté avant même de parler. Elle apprend à jouer le piano et la flûte, et prend goût au jazz en jouant du saxophone. Après le collège, elle atterrit en Belgique où elle découvre la voix de David Linx, et suit les cours auprès de David, Diederick Wissels, Kris Defoort, Jeroen Van Herzeele et d’autres au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. Elle en sort diplômée en 2004 et obtient l’agrégation de professeur. Elle a également suivi des cours et masters classes auprès de Deborah Brown, Mark Murphy, Bobby Mc Ferrin, Fay Claassen et Lydia Van Dam, tout en donnant cours de chant traditionnel finlandais.

 

 

Famille Gjini

Gramoz, Yber et Brihans Gjini font partie d’une famille talentueuse aux racines albanaises. Gramoz, le père, a fait partie de l’Ensemble Tirana, comprenant six chanteurs et une chanteuse soliste issus de diverses régions de l’Albanie, dont l’intention était de faire hommage au répertoire riche et méconnu de la polyphonie albanaise. Les chansons oscillent entre élégies, pièces historiques et épiques, et abordent des thèmes comme l’amour, la séduction, la migration, la perte et la mort. Le meneur de l’ensemble indique un carcan mélodique sur lequel les choristes tressent une réponse émotionnelle douce mais puissante, sanglotante et tremblante. Ylber, l’oncle, est un chanteur lyrique dont la voix de basse a su conquérir le monde de l’opéra. Grâce à son assise puissante, le trio albanais trouve une stabilité qui fait ressortir la beauté de l’ensemble. Brihans, le fils, est un chanteur de talent qui connait bien le répertoire traditionnel via son père, mais chante également dans d’autres styles.

Raphael De Cock

Raphaël De Cock est multi-instrumentiste, chanteur de styles traditionnels, et est impliqué dans divers projets musicaux tant belges qu’internationaux. Il est co-fondateur du groupe Griff (avec Remi Decker) dans lequel il joue plusieurs cornemuses et flûtes, et il forme en 2009 le duo Nadisuna avec Vladiswar Nadishana. Il chante et joue la gaita (cornemuse galicienne) dans les ensembles Néboa et A Contrabanda, la cithare de Sibérie (chatkhan) et chant à la gorge dans le trio Osuna, avec Emre Gültekin et Thomas Baeté. Il participe au projet irlando-scandinave sous le nom Northern Lights, tandis qu’il donne des ateliers multi-ethniques avec Waira dans les écoles. Actuellement, il est invité par Graindelavoix à rejoindre le projet vocal italo-belge Muntagna Nera, et Melancholia.

Agenda (BE)
05/06/2015
Benjamin Tollet

« Une soirée pleine d’émotions et de danses envoûtantes qui laissera certainement les spectateurs bouche bée devant tant de beauté produite par la voix humaine »

RTBF - La Première (BE)
24/08/2015
Didier Mélon

« C’est un mélange très attachant et très patrimonial qui nous est proposé avec le projet Voxtra »

Babelmed.net (FR)
Nadia Khouri-Dagher

« l’oreille se régale d’entendre tous ces chants, basés sur des traditions anciennes de plusieurs siècles, toujours vivants heureusement. »

TRAD’ Magazine (FR )
Etienne Bours

Quand la retenue se fait juste, elle dégage bien plus de puissance que les démonstrations forcées de prouesses vocales. Ce disque en est une démonstration parfaite, avec des chanteurs qui nous rappellent ce que musique veut dire et ce que musique traditionnelle (ou musique du monde) précise encore, si on veut bien sortir des clichés pour en revenir à l’essentiel

Le Monde en Musiques (FR )
22/01/2017

Une bien belle initiative, et un disque déjà salué et récompensé !

Vrije Geluiden (NL )
09/03/2017
VPRO
Mixedworldmusic.com (NL )
10/02/2017
Ton Maas

« Geen enkele combinatie lijkt te dol. Althans op papier, want bij beluistering blijkt telkens weer hoe zorgvuldig alle contrasten zijn gekozen en uitgewerkt. »

Written in Music (NL )
26/11/2016
Philippe De Cleen

« ….a very beautiful release, which above all will also sound live very well. »(traduction

De Subjectivisten (NL )
24/10/2016
Hector Zazou

« Ils vous laissent une impression éternelle et leur éclat mondial vous donne une chair de poule monumentale  » (traduction)

Vrije Geluiden (Nl )
12/10/2016
Charlie Crooijmans

« Dans chaque morceau, les différentes traditions de chant se rencontrent. C’est très beau et bien dosé [trad.] »

Songlines - March 2017 (RO )
01/03/2017
Garth Cartwright

« World music ’fusions’ are something I tend to loathe, but I have to admit that one of the finest releases I’ve been enjoying is a fusion album – Voxtra’s the Encounter of Vocal Heritage.

fRoots (RO )
15/01/2017
Andrew Cronshaw

« Each singer is full of individuality and ability, and there’s not a weak or even similar-sounding track on an album that flows beautifully through its bountiful 23 tracks »

Ekultura.hu (HU)
05/03/2017
Galgóczi Tamás,
Blogfoolk (IT)
16/12/2016
Ciro De Ros

“L’esplorazione prosegue con combinazioni di stili, di repertori e di timbri. Qualche innesto strumentale, ma sono le voci nude a trionfare negli attraversamenti dal nord iperboreo, attraverso la pluralità culturale belga gli eccezionali patrimoni immateriali del Mediterraneo, fino agli altipiani dell’isola dell’Oceano Indiano. Sperimentazioni tradizionali. ”

Radio Rap107fm (ES)
01/02/2017

Prochains concerts

03/11/18 Wakker voor Vrede (Langemark, BE) Réserver

Concerts passés

29/07/18 Folk Holidays ( CZ)
27/07/18 Glatt&Verkehrt (Krems, Austria)
20/05/18 Klangwelt Festival (Toggenburg, Switzerland)
18/05/18 Faascinating Concerts (Rorbas, Switzerland)
07/04/18 15 years Muziekpublique (Brussels, BE)
10/12/17 De Doelen (Rotterdam, NL )
03/12/17 Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ (Amsterdam, NL )
02/12/17 Neimënster (Luxembourg , LU)
14/11/17 CC Jacques Franck (Bruxelles , BE)
07/10/17 C-Mine (Genk, BE )
30/09/17 Mixity (showcase), (Bruxelles , BE )
08/07/17 Brosella Festival (Bruxelles , BE)
23/06/17 Festival des 5 Continents (Martigny , CH )
21/05/17 Eupen Musik Marathon (Eupen, BE )
01/03/17 Vrije Geluiden (Utrecht, BE )
01/03/17 Vrije Geluiden Live - Tivoli Vredenburg (U, NL )
08/10/16 Muziekpublique (Bruxelles , BE)
02/10/16 Cultuurcentrum, (Bruges, BE )
24/09/16 De Werf, (Alost,, BE)
01/07/16 Szczezin ( Poland)
03/10/15 De Centrale (Gend , BE )
21/08/15 Festival d’Art de Huy (Huy , BE )
06/06/15 Muziekpublique (Bruxelles , BE )

Muziekpublique

Muziekpublique – Belgium & International

Lynn Dewitte – lynn@muziekpublique.be

Louise Janssens – louise@muziekpublique.be

Tel : +32 2 217 26 00