Courses overview

Voice & Rhythm

Lydie Thonnard
Vincent Noiret
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The foundation of Western music consists of rhythm, harmony, and of course, melody. In this course, Lydie and Vincent offer you the opportunity to explore, through a rich and varied repertoire, how to intuitively develop and utilize these elements, which are naturally present in and around us. The body is the primary instrument, with the voice as the means of expression. You will experience how sounds and melodies make the body resonate, and how you can easily connect with rhythms from various musical traditions. Oral transmission and collective practice are central to the learning process.

THE COURSE PROGRAM

The course content is divided into three main parts:

  1. Rhythm: Inspired by Konnakol techniques (a rhythmic language used in South Indian traditions), exercises will include polyrhythmic elements, involving feet, hands (and sometimes the entire body), and voice to layer different rhythmic sequences and deeply assimilate them.
  2. Harmony: This focuses on developing perception and awareness of sound through a series of exercises and improvisations. You’ll learn how sounds produced by the human voice resonate and blend to create both consonant and dissonant vibrations.
  3. Singing: The core repertoire includes songs from various traditions, with particular emphasis on rhythmic and harmonic aspects. This repertoire can be expanded with suggestions from participants.

FOR WHO?

The course is designed for singers of all levels with experience in singing in group, as well as individuals with a special interest in artistic expression through movement. Be curious; we look forward to meeting you! The course can serve as basic musical training for musicians already playing an instrument, or for those wishing to explore music for the first time through singing and rhythm.

The first workshop (Level 1) offers participants the opportunity to explore an accessible repertoire, emphasizing the joy of singing together and practicing weekly.

The second workshop (Level 2) will be more challenging, requiring different skills. It is suitable for participants looking to improve their abilities and willing to engage in more intensive practice.

By who?

Lydie and Vincent teach this course together. They carefully select pieces and exercises to ensure consistency throughout the sessions. They have been playing together in the Auster Loo Collectif since 2023 and chose to collaborate this year due to their belief in their complementary musical and teaching qualities!

A minimum of 8 participants per group is required to organize both workshops. If there are not enough registrations, an alternative time slot will be offered where everyone can gather.

Lydie Thonnard

Lydie Thonnard has been passionate about music since childhood. At first she studied the flute, but she quickly developed her interest in improvisation, percussion and rhythmic music in general. She is currently studying for a bachelor’s degree in ‘Rhythms and rhythmics’ at the Royal Conservatory in Brussels. She is also very active as a musician in various projects, including Auster Loo, Trio O3, Les Chanteuses Anonymes and La Crapaude

Vincent Noiret
Vincent Noiret begins his career as a bassist, double bassist, and singer. His journey leads him to explore many musical horizons: jazz, French chanson, classical music, but it is mainly in the so-called world music that he will gain the most recognition. He will accompany artists as varied as Photis Ionnatos (Greece), Ialma (Galicia), Luc Pilartz and Nicolas Hauzeur (music from Wallonia, the Balkans, Swedish music), Ghalia Benali (Tunisia), and many others. He will also work on projects aimed at a young audience, both in song (Geneviève Laloy, Raphy Raphaël) and in theater with the shows “La nuit du coucou” and “Habanera.”

For the past few years, he has also been developing the duo Nisia with Emanuela Lodato (percussion teacher from Southern Italy) where tradition and original work blend together. Later, the duo became a trio and offers a program focused on dance, and the album “Li Pedi” will be released in 2023. With Emanuela, they will also have the opportunity to conduct various workshops as well as performances for children, using their complementarity and complicity to create a playful atmosphere without losing the educational objective of these workshops.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Inscriptions open on August 7 2024!

Come and discover this course during the free session on Tuesday 17 September 2024, between 6:30 pm and 7:30 pm.

Collective course (10 courses/cycle)

Tuesday:

  • Level 1: 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm
  • Level 2: 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle. 

 

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.
Do you not have a membership card yet? Click hereto add a membership card to the shopping cart.

 

If necessary the teacher can vary the calendar in consultation with the course members.

Subscribe

>
This course takes place on Tuesday
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 135
Cycle 2
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
25/02
11/03
18/03
€ 135
Cycle 3
25/03
22/04
29/04
13/05
20/05
27/05
03/06
10/06
17/06
24/06
€ 135
For the whole year € 330
Inscriptions start 7/08

Retour vers les cours

Rythme dans la voix

Lydie Thonnard
Vincent Noiret
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Les bases de la musique occidentale sont le rythme, l’harmonie et bien sûr la mélodie. Dans cet atelier, Lydie et Vincent vous proposent de découvrir, à travers un répertoire riche et varié, comment de façon très intuitive, on peut développer et utiliser ces éléments qui sont naturellement présents en nous et autour de nous. C’est le corps qui est le premier instrument joué et c’est la voix qui en sera le moyen d’expression. Vous pourrez sentir comment les sons et les mélodies font vibrer ce corps et comment trouver de façon simple un moyen d’entrer en résonance avec des rythmes issus de différentes traditions musicales. La transmission orale et la pratique collective seront au cœur de l’apprentissage.

Le programme du cours de rythme dans la voix

Au niveau du contenu, il sera divisé principalement en trois parties :

  1. Rythme : Inspiré des techniques de Konnakol (langage rythmique utilisé dans les traditions du sud de l’Inde), les exercices impliquent une polyrythmie utilisant les pieds, les mains (voire le corps entier) et la voix pour superposer les différentes séquences rythmiques et les assimiler de façon plus profonde.
  2. Harmonie : Il s’agit plutôt ici de développer la perception et la conscience du son par une série d’exercices et d’improvisations où l’on pourra apprendre à entendre comment les sons produits par la voix humaine résonnent et se mêlent pour créer des vibrations consonantes ou dissonantes.
  3. Chants : Le répertoire de base reprendra des chants venus de différentes traditions et dont les aspects rythmiques ou harmoniques seront particulièrement intéressants. (Ce répertoire sera ensuite enrichi par d’éventuelles propositions apportées par les participants.)

Pour qui ?

Chanteurs·euses de tous horizons, ayant une pratique du chant collectif; toutes personnes développant un attrait particulier pour la pratique artistique en mouvement. Soyez curieux·ses, nous serons ravies de vous rencontrer! Le cours peut servir de formation musicale de base pour ceux qui pratiquent déjà un instrument ou s’adresser à des personnes qui désirent faire une première approche de la musique à travers le chant et le rythme.

Dans le premier atelier (niveau 1), les participants auront l’occasion d’explorer un répertoire accessible, mettant au centre de la pratique le plaisir de se retrouver et de pratiquer ensemble chaque semaine.

Le deuxième atelier (niveau 2) sera plus exigeant et comportera plusieurs défis. Il sera donc plus adapté aux personnes désireuses de progresser dans leur pratique, nécessitant parfois un travail plus soutenu avant d’atteindre un résultat satisfaisant.

Par qui ?

Lydie et Vincent ont choisi de donner ce cours en binôme. Ils accorderont une attention particulière à la sélection des morceaux et des exercices afin d’assurer une cohérence tout au long des séances. Lydie et Vincent jouent ensemble au sein d’Auster Loo Collectif depuis 2023. S’ils ont décidé de collaborer cette année c’est parce qu’ils sont convaincus de la complémentarité de leurs qualités musicales et pédagogiques!

Un nombre minimum de 8 participants par groupe est requis pour organiser les deux ateliers. Si le nombre d’inscrits n’est pas suffisant, nous vous proposerons un créneau horaire durant lequel tout le monde sera réuni.

Lydie Thonnard

Lydie Thonnard est une passionnée de musique depuis son plus jeune âge. Initialement formée à la flûte, elle développe très vite un intérêt grandissant pour l’improvisation, les percussions et la rythmique en général. Elle suit d’ailleurs actuellement un baccalauréat en rythme et rythmique au conservatoire royal de Bruxelles et est par ailleurs une musicienne très active dans de nombreux projets (Auster Loo, Trio O3, Les Chanteuses Anonymes, La Crapaude etc.)

Vincent Noiret
Vincent Noiret commence sa carrière comme bassiste, contrebassiste et chanteur. Son parcours va l’amener à toucher à de nombreux horizons musicaux : jazz, chanson française, musique classique, mais c’est surtout dans les musiques dites du monde qu’il se fera le plus reconnaitre. Il accompagnera des artistes aussi variés que Photis Ionnatos (Grèce), Ialma (Galice), Luc Pilartz et Nicolas Hauzeur (musique de Wallonie, des Balkans, musique Suédoise), Ghalia Benali (Tunisie) et bien d’autres encore. Il travaillera également sur des projets destiné au jeune public, que ce soit en chanson (Geneviève Laloy, Raphy Raphaël) ou en théâtre avec les spectacles « La nuit du coucou » ou « Habanera ».
Depuis quelques années il développe également le duo Nisia avec Emanuela Lodato (professeur de percussions du Sud de l’Italie) où tradition et travail original se mélangent.
Par la suite, le duo est devenu trio et propose un programme axé sur la danse et l’album « Li Pedi » sort en 2023.
Avec Emanuela,  ils auront aussi l’occasion d’animer divers ateliers mais aussi spectacles pour les enfants profitant de leur complémentarité et leur complicité pour créer une ambiance ludique sans perdre l’objectif éducatif des ces ateliers.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 7 août 2024 ! 

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 17 septembre 2024, de 18h30 à 19h30 .

Cours collectif

Mardi:

  • Niveau 1 : 18h30 – 19h30
  • Niveau 2: 19h30 – 20h30

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. 

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

L’affiliation à la carte de membre de Muziekpublique est obligatoire pour s’inscrire à un cours.
Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Ce cours a lieu le mardi
Cycle 1
24/09
01/10
08/10
15/10
22/10
05/11
12/11
19/11
26/11
03/12
€ 135
Cycle 2
07/01
14/01
21/01
28/01
04/02
11/02
18/02
25/02
11/03
18/03
€ 135
Cycle 3
25/03
22/04
29/04
13/05
20/05
27/05
03/06
10/06
17/06
24/06
€ 135
Pour l’année entière € 330
Inscriptions à partir du 7/08