Courses overview

Ensemble Choro & Samba

Osman Martins
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The ensemble’s name says it all. In this ensemble you will learn all about the rich repertoire of choro and samba, Brazilian folk music which has lost none of its vitality. Osman Martins (guitar, cavaquinho, pandeiro, vocals) is himself an exponent of these music styles and has all that is needed to pass on his knowledge of the repertoire and the joy of playing together.

Choro

”Choro is classical music that you play on bare feet and with blisters on your hands” (Aquiles Rique Rei, Brazilian singer)

The literal meaning of choro is “song of complaint”. However, owing to the fast rhythm and the cheerful melodies you don’t realise that the songs are really about pain. This urban folk music style (originally from Rio de Janeiro) is recognisable by its virtuoso improvisations and catchy contra-rhythms.

A choro ensemble consists of guitar and cavaquinho, often complemented by mandolin, clarinet, saxophone and violin. The rhythm section always includes a pandeiro.

Samba

The samba also originates in Rio de Janeiro and is the product of rhythms brought by slaves from Africa. Samba is very percussive music played on festive occasions such as carnival; the music is traditionally played on string instruments such as the guitar and the cavaquinho; the rhythm section includes tamborim and pandeiro. This simple basis is often enlarged by instruments including clarinet, trumpet and flute.

Osman Martins

Osman Martins was born in the state of Bahia in Brazil in 1961. As a child, he moved to Sao Paulo where he started the music. On the occasion of his 10th birthday, he received a “cavaquinho” (instrument of Portuguese origin, from the family of guitars) and was immediately possessed by the instrument. A little later, he studied with Maestro Robinson Miguel, a famous Brazilian guitarist. One day, he heard Irio de Paula, former guitarist of Elze Soares and he fell in love with the guitar. He decides to devote himself to this instrument, to explore new horizons harmonic and melodic, DISCOVER! That’s what gave an extra dimension to his cavaquinho game. After the cavaquinho, the guitar, the composition and the percussion, he explored his voice, and decided to follow a singing course. He is immediately struck by a new vocation, this time as a singer. Fortunately for us Osman Martins now lives in Brussels for years and he is one of the most interesting Brazilian musicians in our country, with bands like parceria, Samba Candeia …
In Belgium, Osman collects the big scenes (Molière, Marni, Couleur Café, Esperanzah, Monde is a Village …) and the renowned quality collaborations (Toots Thielemans, Pierre Gillet, Maxime Blésin, Steve Houben, Renato Martins, Matt Bianco , Bai Kamara Jr …)

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come and discover this course during the free session on Wednesday 19th of September, from 8:30 pm to 10 pm.

Ensemble (8 cours/cycle)

Wednesday: 20h30 – 22h

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.
Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

120,00300,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Ensemble Choro & Samba

Osman Martins
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Tout est dans le titre ! Dans cet ensemble vous explorez le riche répertoire de choro et de samba, musique populaire brésilienne qui n’a rien perdu de sa vitalité. Osman Martins (guitare, cavaquinho, pandeiro, chant) est lui-même un ambassadeur de cette musique et est bien placé pour transmettre le répertoire et le plaisir du temps passé à jouer ensemble.

Choro

« Le choro est de la musique classique, vous jouez les pieds nus et des callosités sur vos mains » (Aquiles Rique Rei, chanteuse brésilienne) Même si littéralement choro signifie « complainte », le rythme rapide et les mélodies vives vous emportent dans la bonne humeur. Cette musique populaire urbaine (originaire de Rio de Janeiro) est reconnue pour les improvisations virtuose. Un ensemble de choro est composé de guitare, de cavaquinho, et souvent complétée par la mandoline, la clarinette, le saxophone et le violon. Le pandeiro est essentiel pour la section rythmique.

Samba

La samba est née à Rio de Janeiro et est le produit des rythmes africains apportés par les esclaves africains. La Samba est une musique très percutante jouée lors des fêtes, comme le carnaval. Traditionnellement, cette musique est jouée avec des instruments à cordes comme la guitare et cavaquinho, et pandeiro tamborim qui assure la section rythmique. Cette conception simple est souvent complétée par la clarinette, trompette, flûte,…

Osman Martins

Osman Martins est né dans l’état de Bahia au Brésil en 1961. Enfant, il a déménagé à Sao Paulo où il a commencé la musique. A l’occasion de son 10e anniversaire, il a reçu un « cavaquinho » (instrument d’origine portugaise, de la famille des guitares) et a été immédiatement possédé par l’instrument. Un peu plus tard, il a étudié avec le Maestro Robinson Miguel, un célèbre guitariste brésilien. Un jour, il a entendu Irio de Paula, ex-guitariste de Elze Soares et il est tombé sous le charme de la guitare. Il décide de se consacrer à cet instrument, d’explorer de nouveaux horizons harmoniques et mélodiques, DÉCOUVRIR ! C’est ce qui a donné une dimension supplémentaire à son jeu de cavaquinho. Après le cavaquinho, la guitare, la composition et les percussions, il a explore sa voix, et décide de suivre un cours de chant. Il est immédiatement frappé par une nouvelle vocation, cette fois-ci en tant que chanteur. Heureusement pour nous Osman Martins vit maintenant à Bruxelles depuis des années et il est l’un des musiciens brésiliens les plus intéressants dans notre pays, avec des groupes comme parceria, Samba candeia …
En Belgique, Osman collectionne les grandes scènes (Molière, Marni, Couleur Café, Esperanzah, Monde est un Village…) et les collaborations renommées de qualité (Toots Thielemans, Pierre Gillet, Maxime Blésin, Steve Houben, Renato Martins, Matt Bianco, Bai Kamara Jr…)

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mercredi 18 septembre 2019, de 20h30 à 22h.

Cours d’ensemble (8 cours/cycle)

Mercredi: 20h30 – 22h

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle.

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
€ 120
Cycle 2
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
04/03
€ 120
Cycle 3
25/03
01/04
22/04
29/04
06/05
13/05
20/05
27/05
€ 120

120,00300,00

Effacer