Courses overview

N’goni (kamélé)

Aboubakar Traoré
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

the course

The n’goni is the traditional Malian guitar. It has its origins in the ancient Mandingo kingdom, which now corresponds to West Africa. It is mainly played in Mali, Guinea Conakry, Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire. The term n’goni actually refers to several similar instruments that are lutes or harps, all cousins of the kora.

Originally, around the 12th century, it was known as the “donso/dozo ngoni”, literally the n’goni of the hunters and was made from a gourd. The instrument was then used exclusively during ceremonies. It was only in the 20th century that local musicians decided to add strings to the donso n’goni to make it more popular and easier to play. The kamélé n’goni (“n’goni for youngsters”) was born. Today, most n’goni have between 8 and 12 strings and are tuned by voice.

These courses introduce you to the rich musical tradition from West Africa. You will not only learn to play the n’goni, but also learn more about the culture and history of the instrument.

Looking for an instrument? The teacher has several instruments available to rent. Contact us at cours@muziekpublique.be for more info. 

Aboubakar Traoré

Aboubakar Traoré is from Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso’s second-largest city. Burkina is a country where music plays an important role in everyday life. Aboubakar taught himself to play ngoni and to sing. Today, he is recognised as a prodigy of the kamélé ngoni and an exceptional singer. He is a specialist in the traditional repertoire of the Mandingo griots, paying tribute to the elders who have left their mark on the history of Africa, and of his homeland in particular.

Aboubakar is a creative artist who has travelled extensively throughout Europe, sharing his knowledge through concerts and workshops. He regularly teaches Kamélé n’goni and traditional singing courses for beginners and advanced students. From Belgium to Italy, through France, the Netherlands and Germany, he develops his lessons and his style in a relaxed atmosphere.

Aboubakar founded the group Aboubakar Traoré & Balima with several Belgian musicians in 2016, which was nominated for the Octaves de la Musique 2021 with its debut album “Tama Tama”. The group cultivates its originality by fusing traditional music with contemporary sounds such as hip-hop and jazz, without turning its back on West African culture. Aboubakar will also share this fusion, in which he specialises, with his students.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Inscriptions open on August 7 2024!

Come and discover this course during the free session on Wednesday 18 September 2024, from 7 pm to 8 pm.

Collective course (10 cours/cycle)

Wednesday:

  • 6:30 pm – 7 pm : Tuning of the instrument for all levels
  • 7 pm – 8 pm : Beginners
  • 8 pm – 9 pm : Advanced

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle.

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

If necessary the teacher can change the calendar in consultation with the students.

Subscribe

>
This course takes place on Wednesday
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
27/11
04/12
€ 165
Cycle 2
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
26/02
12/03
19/03
€ 165
Cycle 3
26/03
02/04
23/04
30/04
07/05
14/05
21/05
28/05
04/06
11/06
€ 165
For the whole year € 415
Inscriptions start 7/08

Retour vers les cours

N’goni (kamélé)

Aboubakar Traoré
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Le n’goni est la guitare traditionnelle malienne. Il est originaire de l’ancien royaume Mandingue, aujourd’hui l’équivalent d’une partie de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Il est principalement répandu au Mali, en Guinée Conakry, au Burkina Fasso et en Côte d’Ivoire. Le terme n’goni désigne en fait plusieurs instruments similaires qui sont soit des luths, soit des harpes-luths, tous cousins de la kora.

A l’origine, environ depuis le 12ème siècle, on le nomme « donso/dozo ngoni », littéralement le n’goni des chasseurst, et était fabriqué à partir d’une calebasse. L’instrument était alors utilisé exclusivement lors des cérémonies. Ce n’est qu’au 20ème siècle que des musiciens locaux décident de rajouter des cordes au donso n’goni, le but étant de le rendre plus populaire et facile à jouer. Le kamélé n’goni (« n’goni des jeunes ») est né. Aujourd’hui la plupart des n’gonis comptent entre 8 et 12 cordes, et s’accordent avec la voix.

Cours

Grâce à ces cours vous découvrirez la riche tradition d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Vous apprendrez non seulement à jouer du n’goni, mais aussi à mieux connaître la culture et l’histoire de cet instrument.

A la recherche d’un instrument ? Le professeur dispose de plusieurs instruments à louer. Plus d’informations sur cours@muziekpublique.be

Aboubakar Traoré

Aboubakar Traoré est originaire de Bobo-Dioulasso, la deuxième ville la plus importante du Burkina-Faso. C’est dans ce pays où la musique est si importante dans la vie quotidienne, et dans ce carrefour culturel qu’est Bobo-Dioulasso, qu’Aboubakar a appris de manière autodidacte le n’goni et le chant. Il est aujourd’hui reconnu comme un prodige du kamélé n’goni et un chanteur exceptionnel. Il est spécialiste du répertoire traditionnel des griots mandingues, avec lequel il rend hommage aux anciens qui ont marqué l’histoire de l’Afrique et en particulier de son pays natal.

Aboubakar est un créatif qui a parcouru une bonne partie de l’Europe dans une optique de partage via concerts et workshops. Il propose régulièrement des stages de Kamélé n’goni et de chants traditionnels pour débutants et initiés. De la Belgique à l’Italie en passant par la France, la Hollande et l’Allemagne, il développe sa pédagogie et son style dans une ambiance décontractée.

Aboubakar a fondé en 2016 avec plusieurs musiciens belges le groupe Aboubakar Traoré & Balima, qui a été nommé aux Octaves de la Musique 2021 pour son premier album « Tama Tama ». L’ensemble cultive son originalité par la fusion entre musique traditionnelle et sonorités contemporaines comme le hip-hop et le jazz, sans pour autant tourner le dos à la culture d’Afrique de l’ouest. Aboubakar pourra donc également partager ce métissage, dont il est spécialiste, aux élèves qui en seraient intéressés.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 7 août 2023 ! 

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mercredi 20 septembre 2023, de 19h00 à 20h00.

Cours collectif (10 cours/cycle)

Mercredi:

18h30 – 19h00 : Accordage de l’instrument pour tous les niveaus

19h00 – 20h00 : Débutants

20h – 21h00 : Intermédiaire / avancé

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. 

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
27/09
04/10
11/10
18/10
25/10
08/11
15/11
22/11
29/11
06/12
€ 165
Cycle 2
10/01
17/01
24/01
31/01
07/02
21/02
28/02
06/03
13/03
20/03
€ 165
Cycle 3
27/03
17/04
24/04
08/05
15/05
22/05
29/05
05/06
12/06
19/06
€ 165

165,00415,00

Effacer