Albums overview

Maayo Men (2008)

“Maayo Men” captures all the warmth, beauty and authenticity of Senegalese music. It pays tribute to the Laawbe, instrument makers and musicians who have traditionally taken responsibility for the oral transmission of knowledge between generations. Malick’s CD aims to capture some of this rich oral tradition, painting a vivid picture of the everyday life and culture of the Fula people.

Maayo Men (“our river”) pays tribute to the river Fuuta Toro, which forms a natural border between Senegal and Mauritania. After years of conflict, this waterway has become a meeting place where dugout canoes from the two countries pass each other peacefully. The themes dealt with in this first Muziekpublique CD (protection of the environment, preservation of linguistic and cultural heritage, respect for diversity …) are as relevant in the musicians’ home countries as they are here in Belgium.

Malick Pathé Sow : hoddu, guitar, vocals
Bao Sissoko : kora
A. Komlan Octave : Calabash
Mady Kouyate : guitar
Désiré Somé : guitar
Pape Baro 
: percussion
Athia Sow : backing vocals
Sylvie Nawasadio : backing vocals
Issa Mbaye Diary Sow : Nianiooru
Emre Gültekin : Saz (soundingeneer)


  1. Jeeri Bona
  2. Abdou Aziz Daabax
  3. Fantang
  4. Baydi Kacce
  5. Maayo Men
  6. Windu Massa
  7. Eliman
  8. Ndunngu
  9. Jirim Baayo
  10. Jalibe Dunya
  11. Sama


From Muziekpublique

  • By postal delivery: order on our website
  • At our office from Tuesday to Friday between 10.30-13.00 and 15-18.00, or during the concerts.

Record shops

  • In good record shops in Belgium, Holland, Luxemburg, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, UK, Ireland, France.


  • Google Play, Spotify, Deezer and other platforms

Buy the Album