Courses overview

Karkaba: Gnawa musique and dance

Mohamed Saïd Akasri
Driss Filali
MetX - De Lenglentierstraat 20, 1000 Brussels

Karkaba is a group of young musicians from Brussels, mainly coming from Morocco, directed by mâalem Driss Filali and Mohamed Saïd Akasri. The group promotes traditional music from their native country and collaborates with MetX to exchange and create a fusion with other music styles.

Via Karkaba, the young musicians learn everything about gnawa music, dance and vocals. They also perform with a group of brass players as Remork & Karkaba and with other percussion bands. Everybody is welcome!

This is a project in collaboration with MetX.

Mohamed Saïd Akasri

Mohamed Saïd Akasrik is a percussionist and one of the artistic coordinators of Karkaba. He plays several percussion instruments, a.o. drums, qraqeb and t’bel. These last two are traditional Morrocan percussion instruments frequently used in gnawa-music.

 

Mohamed Saïd starts playing music at the age of 12. Member of a Molenbeek youth centre, he organises music workshops together with a friend and one of his brothers. It becomes their favourite pastime and they learn to play several instruments as autodidacts. After a while another Akasri brother, himself a musician, invites them to play together and form the first group in Brussels to play traditional Morrocan music.

Driss Filali

Driss Filali is a mâalem, or master gnawa musician, and one of the key artists from the Moroccan diaspora in Brussels. He’s a member and one of the composers of the gnawa-jazz band Marockin’ Brass and also co-artistic coordinator of the gnawa training program Karkaba.

 

As the son of mâalem Selam, Driss Filali grows up in Morocco in a community where the gnawa-culture is omnipresent. From an early age, he learns to play music with his father and his nephew, mâalem Hamid. Together they perform at different lilas, traditional gnawa ceremonies, in Morroco and at festivals in France and Belgium.

 

In 2005 he performs together with his nephew at the international gnawa festival of Essaouira, after which Driss comes to Belgium in 2007. He soon meets Luc Mishalle, who proposes him to join the group Marockin’ Brass. Together, they start playing concerts in Belgium and abroad and write the band’s fourth album Beats & Pieces.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come and discover this course during the free meeting session on Wednesday, September 22 2021, from 6:30 to 9 pm.

Collective lesson (10 courses/cycle)

Wednesday from 6:30 to 9 pm.

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle. Sign up before 1 October 2021 and pay 10 euros less!

Registrations open on 8 August!

Place

MetX
De Lenglentierstraat 20, 1000 Brussels

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

Subscribe

>
Cycle 1
29/09
06/10
13/10
20/10
27/10
10/11
17/11
24/11
01/12
08/12
€ 150
Cycle 2
22/12
12/01
19/01
26/01
02/02
09/02
16/02
23/02
09/03
16/03
€ 150
Cycle 3
23/03
30/03
20/04
27/04
04/05
11/05
18/05
25/05
01/06
08/06
€ 150

140,00350,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Karkaba: Musique et danse gnawa

Mohamed Saïd Akasri
Driss Filali
MetX - Rue De Lenglentier 20, 1000 Bruxelles

Karkaba est un groupe de jeunes musiciens vivant à Bruxelles mais dont le pays d’origine est souvent le Maroc. Ils sont dirigés par mâalem Driss Filali et Mohamed Saïd Akasri. Certains d’entre eux sont nés ici, d’autres sont venus rejoindre le pays d’accueil par la suite.

Les musiciens souhaitent promouvoir la musique traditionnelle du pays d’origine mais aussi pratiquer l’échange et la fusion avec d’autres musiques. Pendant les répétitions, les musiciens apprennent tout sur la musique, la danse et le chant gnawa. En plus de cela, ils jouent des concerts avec une section de souffleurs sous le nom de Remork & Karkaba et d’autres groupes de percussions. Tout le monde est bienvenu!

C’est un project en collaboration avec MetX.

Mohamed Saïd Akasri

Mohamed Saïd Akasri est percussionniste et un des coordinateurs artistiques de Karkaba. Il joue toutes sortes de percussions, de la batterie ainsi que des krakebs et le t’bel. Ces deux derniers instruments sont des instruments de percussions traditionnels de la musique gnawa.

 

Mohamed Saïd commence à jouer de la musique vers l’âge de 12 ans. Faisant partie du foyer de jeunes à Molenbeek, il y crée un atelier de musique avec son frère et un ami. Cela devient vite leur passe-temps favori et de manière autodidacte ils apprennent à jouer différents instruments de musique. Un autre frère, déjà plus avancé dans la musique, les invite à jouer avec lui. Ainsi, ils deviennent le premier groupe de musique traditionnelle marocaine de Bruxelles. Cela leur permet de jouer aux avants-premières du groupe marocain Nass El Ghiwan dans des salles telles que l’AB, le Cirque Royal, les Halles de Schaerbeek, Forest National…

Driss Filali

Driss Filali est un mâalem, ou maitre musicien gnawa, et un des artistes clés de la diaspora marocaine à Bruxelles. Musicien et un des compositeurs du groupe Marockin’ Brass, il est aussi co-coordinateur artistique du projet de formation gnawa Karkaba.

 

Fils du mâalem Selam, Driss Filali grandit au Maroc dans un environnement où la culture et la musique gnawa sont omniprésentes. Dès son enfance, Il joue auprès de son père et de son cousin, le mâalem Hamid. Ils sont invités à des lilas, ou cérémonies gnawa, à travers le Maroc et à des festivals en France et en Belgique.

 

En 2005 il joue avec son cousin au festival d’Essaouira, le festival international de référence pour tous les artistes gnawa. En 2007 Driss vient en Belgique pour un projet musical et finit par s’y installer. Il rencontre rapidement Luc Mishalle, qui lui propose d’intégrer le groupe Marockin’ Brass en 2008. Ensemble, ils jouent des concerts en Belgique et à l’étranger et créent le 4ième album du groupe Beats & Pieces.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mercredi 22 septembre 2021, de 18h30 à 21h.

Cours collectif (10 cours/cycle)

Mercredi de 18h30 à 21h

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. Inscrivez-vous avant le 1 octobre 2021 et payez 10 euros de moins !

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 8 août ! 

Lieu

MetX
Rue De Lenglentier 20, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

L’affiliation à la carte de membre de Muziekpublique est obligatoire pour s’inscrire à un cours.

 

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
29/09
06/10
13/10
20/10
27/10
10/11
17/11
24/11
01/12
08/12
€ 150
Cycle 2
22/12
12/01
19/01
26/01
02/02
09/02
16/02
23/02
09/03
16/03
€ 150
Cycle 3
23/03
30/03
20/04
27/04
04/05
11/05
18/05
25/05
01/06
08/06
€ 150

140,00350,00

Effacer