Courses overview

Jarana Jarocha

Israel Alonso
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

The jarana is a stringed instrument that is used in the musical tradition of Veracruz, on the Gulf of Mexico coast.  The instrument possesses 8 chords in 5 choruses, which allows it to be played in 5 different tones.  It’s used in a musical genre called Son Jarocho, which is the reason it’s also called “Jarana Jarocha”.  That allows it to be differentiated from the other jaranas, such as the Jarana Huasteca, also used in traditional Mexican music.  The Jarana Jarocha was created during the colonial period, when the population tried to reproduce Baroque guitars.  The instrument is made of a single piece of wood.  It can vary in size, thus in tone, thereby enriching de sonorities of the ensemble: jarana tercera (80-100 cm), jarana segunda (70-80 cm), jarana primera (55-70 cm), mosquito (less than 50 cm) and the smallest, called chaquiste, (30-40 cm). The jarana  forms the rhythmic and harmonic base of Son Jaroco.

In this course, students will learn to play the different rhythms of the Son Jarocho using, as a basis, the traditional repertoire.  They will be invited to sing while playing, in order to understand the rhythmic interconnection between the melody of the voice and the harmonic accompaniment. In the end, thanks to the instructor’s know-how, they will be able to improvise melodies based on the variety of the Son Jarocho genre.

You don’t have a jarana yet? Do not panic.  You can start the course with a simple guitar or a ukulele. Later on, the teacher will help you to find your own instrument.

Israel Alonso

Israel Alonso is a musician of Mexican origin who lives and works in Brussels. Active in various ensembles, he builds bridges between traditional South-American genres and contemporary musical influences he picks up in Brussels. He is also one of the initiators of the festivities around ‘Dia de Muertos in les Marolles’.

 Israel is barely twenty when he first leaves his hometown of Mexico City to tour Europe. With the traditional Mexican music group “Tonalli Ambar” he visits Germany, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, the Netherlands and Belgium. His suitcase contains string instruments (guitar, guitarrón, jarana, vihuela), wind instruments (saxophone, flute) and a marimba.

 Besides playing and writing music, Israel also teaches traditional Mexican music, music theory and singing. He starts up several groups in Mexico: Onírisonante (2008), a company for street theatre and music, and SonÓsfera (2015), a jazz-fusion group that juggles with different traditional Mexican music genres and with which he tours Spain and France. Once settled in Brussels, he and French flute-player Sylvain Boisvert set up the quartet 4Cascabel (violin, guitar, saxophone and double bass), specializing in ‘Son Jarocho’.

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Inscriptions open on August 8 2022!

Come and discover this course during the free session on Tuesday 20 September 2022, between 7pm and 8:30pm.

Collective course (10 courses/cycle)

Tuesday: 7pm – 8:30pm

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle. 

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

To register for a course, membership of Muziekpublique is mandatory.

Do you not have a membership card yet? Click here to add a membership card to the shopping cart.

If necessary the teacher can vary the calendar in consultation with the course members.

 

Subscribe

>
Cycle 1
27/09
04/10
11/10
18/10
08/11
15/11
22/11
29/11
06/12
13/12
€ 165
Cycle 2
10/01
17/01
24/01
31/01
07/02
14/02
28/02
07/03
14/03
21/03
€ 165
Cycle 3
28/03
18/04
25/04
02/05
09/05
16/05
23/05
30/05
06/06
13/06
€ 165

165,00415,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Jarana Jarocha

Israel Alonso
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

L’instrument

La jarana est un instrument à cordes qui est utilisé dans la tradition musicale de la côte du golfe du Mexique, Veracruz. L’instrument a 8 cordes en 5 chœur ce qui permet de jouer dans 5 tons différents. Elle est utilisée dans le genre musical connu comme Son Jarocho, c’est pour ça que la jarana est ensuite nommée « Jarana Jarocha » pour la différencier des autres jaranas utilisées dans la musique traditionnelle mexicaine comme la Jarana Huasteca. La Jarana jarocha est un instrument qui a été créée pendant l’époque coloniale à partir des modèles de guitares baroques que la population a essayé de reproduire. Cet instrument est construit d’un seul morceau de bois et peut varier de taille et donc de timbre, ce qui enrichi les différentes sonorités dans l’ensemble : jarana tercera (80-100 cm), jarana segunda (70-80 cm), jarana primera (55-70 cm), mosquito (mois de 50 cm) et la plus petite, appelée chaquiste, (30-40 cm). C’est l’instrument qui fait la base rythmique et harmonique dans le Son Jarocho.

Le cours

Dans ce cours, les élèves apprendront à jouer différents rythmes du Son jarocho à partir du répertoire traditionnel. Iels seront invités à s’accompagner au chant avec la jarana pour comprendre l’imbrication rythmique entre la mélodie de la voix et l’accompagnement harmonique. Enfin, grâce au savoir-faire de cet artiste, iels seront capables d’improviser des mélodies à partir de la variété rythmique du genre musical Son jarocho.

Vous ne possédez pas encore de Jarana ? Pas de panique, vous pouvez débuter le cours avec une simple guitare ou un ukulélé et le professeur vous aidera par la suite à trouver votre propre instrument.

Israel Alonso

Israel Alonso est un musicien d’origine mexicaine, vivant depuis quelques années à Bruxelles. Actif dans plusieurs ensembles, il part des musiques traditionnelles sud-américaines pour créer des ponts avec d’autres genres qu’on retrouve à Bruxelles. Il est également l’un des initiateurs de la fête contemporaine ‘Dia de Muertos dans les Marolles’.

Originaire de Mexico City, Israel avait à peine 20 ans lorsqu’il est parti en tournée européenne avec le groupe de musique traditionnelle mexicaine « Tonalli Ambar ». Ainsi il visite l’Allemagne, la Pologne, la République Tchèque, la Slovaquie, la Hollande et la Belgique. Multi-instrumentiste de formation, il y joue des instruments à cordes (guitare, guitarrón, jarana, vihuela), à vents (saxophone, flûte) et le marimba.

En plus de sa carrière de musicien, il commence à travailler comme professeur de musique traditionnelle mexicaine, de théorie musicale et de chant. Il aide également à créer plusieurs collectifs artistiques au Mexique, comme l’ensemble de musique et théâtre de rue Onírisonante (2008) et SonÓsfera (2015), un groupe de jazz et fusion de diverses musiques traditionnelles mexicaines avec lequel il repart en tournée européenne (France et Espagne). Une fois arrivé à Bruxelles, il crée avec le flûtiste français Sylvain Boisvert le quartet 4Cascabel (violon, guitare, saxophone et contrebasse) spécialisé en Son Jarocho (musique traditionnelle du Mexique).

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Les inscriptions ouvrent le 8 août 2022 ! 

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mardi 20 septembre 2022, de 19h à 20h30 .

Cours collectif (10 cours/cycle)

Mardi: 19h à 20h30

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle. 

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

L’affiliation à la carte de membre de Muziekpublique est obligatoire pour s’inscrire à un cours.

Pas encore une carte de membre? Cliquez ici pour ajouter la carte de membre au panier.

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Cycle 1
27/09
04/10
11/10
18/10
08/11
15/11
22/11
29/11
06/12
13/12
€ 165
Cycle 2
10/01
17/01
24/01
31/01
07/02
14/02
28/02
07/03
14/03
21/03
€ 165
Cycle 3
28/03
18/04
25/04
02/05
09/05
16/05
23/05
30/05
06/06
13/06
€ 165

165,00415,00

Effacer