Courses overview

Middle Eastern Choir & Music Theory

Elias Bachoura
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

This course is taught in French.

Are you a musician (amateur or professional)? Do you like to sing and would you like to discover Middle-Eastern music or acquire a better knowledge? Than this course is meant for you!

The goal of this course is to unveil the mysteries surrounding oriental music. You will learn to understand and master the music in an intuitive way. While studying the repertoires of eastern music (Syriac, Syrian, Turkish, Egyptian, … ) you will also learn to read music , study singing and get to know about key signatures.

The educational programme extends over two year and covers six musical genres that are dealt with in detail.

  1. Syriac music: There is a vast repertoire of songs based on the very ancient Syriac catholic and orthodox churches. This is actually the original music shared by all the countries that claim descent from Mesopotamia.
  2. Syrian music: Thanks to socio-cultural interactions among the various civilizations that Syria has known (Assyrians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Arabo-Andalucians and Ottomans) there exists an enormous variety in sound-colours and melodies. A particular feature of Syrian music is the influence of the Aleppo school, originating in the capital of northern Syria and also the presence of Mesopotamian song. We shall examine different traditional singing styles, including Al-Mouachah (the “Arabo-Andalucian” form), Al-Daur (“variation form”), Le Moil (“free improvization ad libitum”).
  3. Turkish music: Throughout the Ottoman era the sultans were interested in sung music, above all for their traditional and religious festivals, but also just for their own amusement. The musicians therefore devised musical forms for dancing and for relaxation. (“Al Samai”: the instrumental form that resembles the rondo rhythm of 10/8, “Longa”: the instrumental form that resembles the rondo rhythm of 2/4) …
  4. Iraqi music: Iraqi music is essentially based on a modal and lyrical tradition. “Maquam” singing developed during the Abassid caliphate. Maquam singing follows precise rules that the singer must observe, such as the introduction,the texts, the additional words, improvization, scales and cadenzas, …
  5. Egyptian music: Egyptian musicians (late 19th and early 20th centuries) freed themselves from Ottoman influence that had dominated the country for four centuries. They reawakened local Egyptian music. We are going to get to know their masterpieces, analyze them carefully and sing some songs by the great composers of the first half of the 20th century.
  6. Andalucian Moroccan music: (Al-Nawba) This is a style of singing and composition in the form of suites that observe very precise modal sequences. Every Nawba carries the name of the modal sequence in which the song is written. For example, the Nawba of Al-Maya is entirely composed in the Maya mode.The origin of this art-form can be traced back to the time of Al-Andalus.
Elias Bachoura

Elias Bachoura studied at the Conservatory of Music in Damas, Syria, his country of origin. After arriving in Brussels, he studied composition and orchestration at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. With time, he has acquired knowledge of both oriental and western music which makes him critical and attentive of all styles of music. The subtlety, touch and innovation of his playing has made him a key musical reference. He currently plays in the Flemish orchestra ‘Olla Vogala

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Information

Schedule

Come and discover this course during the free session on Wednesday 18th of September, from 6:30 pm to 8 pm.

  • Beginners : Wednesday 18.30h – 20.00h
  • Advanced : Thursday 18.30h – 20.00h

Registration is required from the second course of the cycle.

Place

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Price

 

If necessary the teacher can vary the calendar in consultation with the course members.

Subscribe

>
Wednesday
>
Thursday
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
27/11
04/12
€ 0
Cycle 2
18/12
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
04/03
11/03
€ 0
Cycle 3
25/03
01/04
22/04
29/04
06/05
13/05
20/05
27/05
03/06
10/06
€ 0
For the whole year € 200
Cycle 1
26/09
03/10
10/10
17/10
24/10
07/11
14/11
21/11
28/11
05/12
€ 0
Cycle 2
19/12
09/01
16/01
23/01
30/01
06/02
13/02
20/02
05/03
12/03
€ 0
Cycle 3
26/03
02/04
23/04
30/04
07/05
14/05
28/05
04/06
11/06
18/06
€ 0
For the whole year € 200

200,00

Clear

Retour vers les cours

Chorale orientale & théorie de la musique

Elias Bachoura
MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap - Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Vous êtes musicien (amateur ou professionel), vous aimez chanter et vous voulez découvrir ou approfondir vos connaissances de la musique orientale ? Ce cours est là pour vous !

Le cours a pour but de dévoiler les mystères de la musique orientale et d’offrir des outils pour la comprendre et la maîtriser d’une façon intuitive. Pendant que les élèves découvrent le répertoire de la musique orientale (Syriaque, Syrienne, Turque, Irakienne, Egyptienne…), ils apprennent le solfège et intériorisent les tonalités en chantant.

Ce programme pédagogique s’étale sur deux ans et s’axe sur 6 genres musicaux que nous allons aborder.

1- Musique Syriaque : Il existe un large répertoire de chant basé sur les mélodies très anciennes des églises Syriaques « Catholique et Orthodoxe ». En fait, la musique syriaque est la musique originale partagée par tous les pays mésopotamiens.

2- Musique Syrienne : Grâce aux interactions socio-culturelles entre les civilisations qui se sont succédé en Syrie (Assyrienne, Grecque, Romaine, Arabe, Arabo-Andalouse et Ottomane), on trouve une large variété de timbres dans la formation des mélodies, mais ce qui est particulièrement remarquable dans la musique syrienne, c’est l’influence de l’école d’Alep, la capitale du nord syrien, et la présence de la chanson mésopotamienne. On s’approchera des formes du chant traditionnel comme Al Mouachah : « forme arabo-andalouse », Al Daur : « forme de variation », Le Moil : « forme d’improvisation libre, ad libitum »…

3- Musique Turque : Durant toute la période ottomane, les sultans étaient très intéressés par la musique et le chant, surtout pour les fêtes traditionnelles et religieuses, mais également pour leur propre plaisir. Les musiciens ont donc inventé des formes musicales pour la danse et la relaxation. (« Al Samaï » : forme instrumentale ressemblant à la forme de Rondo en rythme de 10/8. « Longa » : forme instrumentale ressemblant à la forme de Rondo en rythme de 2/4.)…

4- Musique Irakienne : La musique irakienne est basée principalement sur une tradition modale et lyrique, on retrouve le chant de « Maqam » qui s’est développé durant l’époque abbasside. Le chant du « Maqam » est construit selon des règles bien précises que le chanteur doit respecter, comme l’introduction, les textes, les mots ajoutés, l’improvisation, la tessiture et les cadences….

5- Musique Egyptienne : Les musiciens égyptiens (fin du 19ème, début du 20ème siècle) ont libéré leur musique de l’influence ottomane qui a gouverné le pays durant 4 siècles. Ils ont réanimé l’esprit local de la musique égyptienne. Vous écouterez ici leurs chef-d’oeuvres, les analyserez et chanterez quelques chansons des grands compositeurs de la première moitié du 20ème siècle.

6- Musique Andalouse Marocaine : (Al-Nawba) Est un chant raffiné et une composition instrumentale sous la forme d’une suite affirmant une modalité précise. Chaque Nawba porte le nom du mode principal dans lequel la suite de chansons et morceaux est composée. Par exemple, le Nawba de Al-Maya est composé entièrement en mode Maya. L’origine de cet art remonte à l’âge d’or de l’époque d’Al-Andalus.

Elias Bachoura

Elias Bachoura a étudié le oud au Conservatoire de Damas dans son pays natal, la Syrie. Il était l’élève du professeur azerbaïdjanais Askar Alikbirof et l’irakien Munir Bachir. Arrivé en Belgique, il a étudié la composition et l’orchestration au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. Il a aussi étudié la pédagogie à l’Institut Supérieur de Musique et de Pedagogie (IMEP) avec Michel Déom.

Au fil du temps, il a acquis une double connaissance de la musique orientale et occidentale, ce qui le rend critique et attentif en toutes circonstances. La subtilité, le toucher et l’innovation de son jeu font de lui un musicien de référence. Actuellement, il joue dans l’orchestre ‘Olla Vogala’.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Informations

Horaires

Venez découvrir ce cours pendant la session gratuite de rencontre le mercredi 18 septembre 2018, entre 18h30 à 20h.

Cours collectif (10 cours/cycle)

  • Débutants: les mercredis de 18.30h à 20.00h
  • Avancés: les jeudis de 18.30h à 20.00h

L’inscription est obligatoire à partir du deuxième cours du cycle.

Lieu

MABO - Lycée Maria-Boodschap
Rue de la Braie 22, 1000 Bruxelles

Prix

Si nécessaire, le prof peut faire des changements du calendrier en accord avec les élèves.

Inscriptions

>
Mercredi
>
Jeudi
Cycle 1
25/09
02/10
09/10
16/10
23/10
06/11
13/11
20/11
27/11
04/12
€ 0
Cycle 2
18/12
08/01
15/01
22/01
29/01
05/02
12/02
19/02
04/03
11/03
€ 0
Cycle 3
25/03
01/04
22/04
29/04
06/05
13/05
20/05
27/05
03/06
10/06
€ 0
Pour l’année entière € 200
Cycle 1
26/09
03/10
10/10
17/10
24/10
07/11
14/11
21/11
28/11
05/12
€ 0
Cycle 2
19/12
09/01
16/01
23/01
30/01
06/02
13/02
20/02
05/03
12/03
€ 0
Cycle 3
26/03
02/04
23/04
30/04
07/05
14/05
28/05
04/06
11/06
18/06
€ 0
Pour l’année entière € 200

200,00

Effacer